10,000 Maniacs' "The Wishing Chair" L.P. will celebrate its 30th anniversary this year
(original release date - September 23, 1985). Since it seems apparent that the Maniacs
are not being given the remaster / bonus tracks / box set treatment that they so richly
deserve, I've decided to upload all of my 70+ live and rare 10,000 Maniacs recordings
during the coming weeks. Although many of these recordings will be re-seeds of previous
Dime torrents, a substantial number have never appeared on the Dime (and many others
haven't been shared since the Dime's previous incarnation as "easytree.org" circa 2005).


*2015 re-seed*

Torrent: 196777
Title: 10,000 Maniacs - Trumansburg, NY - July 31, 1991 - alt source / upgrade(?) - AUD/FLAC
Size: 433.87 MB
Category: Alternate
Uploaded by: judgesmails

10,000 Maniacs
Grassroots Festival
Trumansburg, NY
July 13, 1991

(alternate source / possible upgrade from earlier upload)

source: AUD cassette > ? > cassette received in trade > Nero ROM > Cool Edit > CDR > FLAC
sound quality: A-

Disc 1:
1. intro. tape (short fragment of Peter Gabriel's "The Feeling Begins")
2. What's the Matter Here?
3. Eat For Two
4. Cherry Tree
5. Poison in the Well
6. A Campfire Song
7. Trouble Me (with Mary Ramsey)
8. Eden (early version)
9. "Shadows at Night" (with vocals)
10. If You Intend (early version)
11. City of Angels

Disc 2:
1. Candy Everybody Wants (early version)
2. Cotton Alley (with John Lombardo)
3. Maddox Table (with John Lombardo)
4. Like the Weather
5. Don't Talk
6. Hey Jack Kerouac
7. Sister Rose
8. Tension (with John Lombardo & Mary Ramsey)

I had originally thought this was going to be a re-seed of Zebweber's earlier upload.
However, when I looked more closely, I noticed that my copy came from cassette rather
than here at the Dime. Also, Zeb's notes indicate that his recording had flaws at the
beginning of "City of Angels" and that "Tension" faded out at the end. Those issues are
not present on this recording. I can't speak to the overall sound quality of Zeb's
original upload, but this does appear to be from a different source.

This is another of those great 1991 Maniacs shows, during which the band road-tested
a bunch of future "Our Time in Eden" songs. Track 9, an unreleased instrumental given
the unofficial name "Shadows at Night" by Maniacs guru Adam Zeitz, actually appears
with rough vocals this time around. "Candy Everybody Wants" is somewhat of a train
wreck - sounds like either Rob or Dennis are playing way out of tune at certain points.

Thanks to everyone who has been sharing their Maniacs recordings lately, and thanks
also to those who have left such nice comments regarding my uploads - it's always