BBC Proms 2017 - Sibelius, Saint-Saens & Elgar/Payne 2017-08-22

The BBC Symphony Orchestra conducted by Sakari Oramo in Sibelius, Elgar's Symphony No.3 (completed Payne), and Saint-Saens's Piano Concerto No.2 with Javier Perianes.

Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London
Presented by Ian Skelly

Broadcast: 22 August 2017

Javier Perianes (piano)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Sakari Oramo (conductor)

01. Introduction
02. Sibelius: Scenes historiques, Suite No. 1
03. Introduction to Saint-Saens Piano Concerto
04. Saint-Saens - Piano Concerto No.2 in G minor
05. Encore; Manuel de Falla - Danza ritual del fuego (The Ritual Fire Dance from El Amor Brujo)
06. Introduction to Elgar/Payne, Symphony No.3
07. Elgar/Payne - Symphony No.3

This year's Elgar cycle concludes with the originally unfinished Third Symphony. The concert also features the vivid, descriptive miniatures of Sibelius's Scènes historiques and Saint-Saëns's brilliantly youthful Second Piano Concerto.