Cassette Tape #034

Transfer by Keith Kreider 01/21/2019

Source Info:
Unknown Cassette:Nakamichi ZX-7 > Sound Devices Mixpre-6 @ 24/96

Carlton Haney’s “Bluegrass Story”
with Bill Monroe & Special Guests
Cantrell’s Horse Farm
Fincastle, VA
September 5, 1965
(The Very First Bluegrass Festival)

Side A:
01. (Carlton Haney talks about The Wilson Brothers and Bill Monroe)(enter Clyde Moody, Chubby Wise, Rual Yarbrough, & Bill Yates)
02. Footprints In The Snow
03. (Carlton Haney Talk)
04. In The Pines
05. (Carlton Haney Talk)
06. Columbus Stockade Blues
07. (Carlton Haney Talk)(enter Don Reno)
08. Cackling Hen
09. (Carlton Haney Talk)(enter Kenny Baker & Charlie Smith)
10. Wheel Hoss
11. (Carlton Haney Talk)(enter Curtis Blackwell, Randall Collins & The Dixie Bluegrass Boys)
12. Sitting On Top of The World
13. Louisville Breakdown (x)

Side B:
01. Louisville Breakdown (complete)
02. (Carlton Haney Talk)
03. The Walls of Time
04. (Carlton Haney Talk)(enter Ralph Stanley & The Clinch Mountain Boys)
05. Sugar Coated Love
06. (Carlton Haney Talk)
07. The Little Girl & The Dreadful Snake
08. I'm On My Way Back To The Old Home
09. (Carlton Haney Talk)(enter The Goins Brothers)
10. Will You Be Loving Another Man
11. (Carlton Haney Talk)
12. Lonesome Road Blues (x)

Notes: Cassette #034, a companion to Cassettes #032 and #033, contains another portion of famed bluegrass promoter Carlton Haney's "Bluegrass Story" at the very first bluegrass festival ever held. As Haney tells the story of the evolution of bluegrass music over time, Bill Monroe is joined by a host of greats who contributed to the development of the genre. Heard here are Clyde Moody, Chubby Wise, Rual Yarbrough, Don Reno, Kenny Baker, Charlie Smith, Curtis Blackwell, Randall Collins, Ralph Stanley, The Goins Brothers (Melvin & Ray), and others. Classic!

--Mitchell Wittenberg

Listed as: "Bill Monroe 1965-Sep-xx First Bluegrass Festival (c033)"