The Byrds featuring Michael Clarke
The Empire Theater, Sunderland, England
October 7, 1990

Source: Audience Recording > 3rd generation cassette (courtesy of M.R. archive)

Transfer: Zoom H4n (16 bit / 44.1 kHz) (transfer by M.R.)

Editing: Soundforge (tracking & volume balancing) > Wav > TLH (sector boundary aligned) Flac level 8

Traders Den 8/31/18 - tracked by kingrue upload 1582

Hi folks, As most of you are familiar with my posts, you know you can always expect something rare and unique and today is no exception.

I wasn't even aware that The Byrds toured in 1990, with just 2 original members.

I was quite surprised getting to hear this tape. It was very different than what I expected to hear, though equally enjoyable.


The Empire Theater was built in 1907 and has a capacity of 2,000.

In 1988 Michael Clarke had met Terry Jones Rogers in Hilton Head, SC. and was invited to join The Byrds.

This led to a long association with The Byrds, as he fronted the group on it's national and international tours.

In 1989, The line-up included Michael Clarke, Skip Battin, Carlos Bernal, Jerry Sorn and Terry Jones Rogers.

John York replaced Bernal on the 2nd half of a national tour, but departed after only a few months, flying home to be with his expectant wife.

At this point, Skip Battin stepped up to the bass position, as he did in his former stint with The Byrds.

This 4 piece line-up of Michael Clarke, Skip Battin, Jerry Sorn and Terry Jones Rogers then embarked on their first extensive tour of Europe.

This line-up continued to tour until Michael Clarke's untimely death, in December of 1993.

I'd like to thank Mark (Snowy) for his help in figuring out the set list and notes.

Even though this is a 3rd gen copy, it sounds really good and I actually listened to this one all the way through.

Band memebers:
Drums - Michael Clarke (Byrds 64-67) (passed away on Dec. 19, 1993, age 47)
Bass - Skip Battin (Byrds 69-73)
Guitar - Jerry Sorn
Guitar - Terry Jones-Rogers

Set list:
01 Introduction
02 I'll Feel A Whole Lot Better
03 All I Really Want To Do
04 My Back Pages
05 Sail On Sailor (Beach Boys cover)
06 band intros
07 Mr Tambourine Man
08 Pirates (Terry J Rogers song)
09 banter
10 Chimes Of Freedom
11 You Ain't Going Nowhere
12 All I Need To Survive (Terry J Rogers song)
13 Tricou House (Terry J Rogers song) -- tape flip @ 0:26 --
14 Mr. Spaceman
15 Turn! Turn! Turn!
16 So You Want To Be A Rock'n Roll Star
17 Eight Miles High
18 Pretty Woman (Roy Orbison cover)
19 Will The Circle Be Unbroken

Total Time = 80:20 min

~~ ENJOY ~~