Band: Canned Heat
Venue: Kulturhalle Pachern
City: Hart bei Graz (Ortsteil Pachern)
Country: Austria / Styria
Date: Wednesday, 20th Oct. 2010
Bootleg Title: Birthday Boogie
Taper: HighVoltage
Recording Equipment: Olympus LS-10 Linear PCM Recorder
Mic Position: fixed at belt buckle, underneath T-shirt
Location: about 1-2 m from the stage, middle
Recorder Settings: Mic Sens low, Low Cut off, Mic Zoom Set Standard
Audience: ~400

Lineage: internal Mics -> Olympus LS-10 (PCM WAV 44.1kHz/16bit) , -> PC -> Nero Wave Editor -> FLAC Level 6

Edits: general volume adaption, special volume reduction on the first 2 songs, equalizer, fade-in & fade out, cut out of some short clips (of audience screams or silence) between songs, track split, flac level 6

WRL (Woodstock Reunited Lineup, minus Larry Taylor) with John Paulus:
- Adolfo "Fito" de la Parra: drums, voc (on tracks 3, 8)
- Harvey "The Snake" Mandel: guitar (overdriven)
plus Dale Spalding: (clean) guitar / bass / harp / vocals
and John Paulus: bass / (clean) guitar (slide)

Special Notes:
A great show with an up-for-it audience, despite the crowd was rather small, my third Heat show this year, after the Lovely Days Festival in Wiesen (Burgenland/Austria) and the Summerdays Festival (Thurgau/Switzerland), this time the 'full' set, however without Larry Taylor, but with John Paulus who did his job perfectly! The Kulturhalle is a rather small multifunctional sports hall, sorts of these are often used by school for sports education - the acoustics in there were surprisingly good, also in the first row!
Dale (who really stands out on the harp, btw!) asks "Let me ask you something, Graz!" before he starts with 'Bullfrog Blues'. After the first song, Fito says "Thank you very much, it feels good tonight!"
Before 'Midnight Sun' Fito counts in, but notices that Dale messes around with the cable/at his amp, so he stops and continues again after Dale is ready.
When Fito announces 'Going up the Country' he adds "Just like around here...." and "This is up the Country here!"
In the first A-verse of the Boogie Dale mentions "Graz" and in the second A-verse he sings "Hart". At the end of the Boogie Fito announces that this night was the birthday of their long-time 'road manager' Markus, tells him to come on stage, and we all start to sing Happy Birthday for him - hence the title 'Birthday Boogie' (moreover, 2 days after that is my father's birthday, and the concert tickets were sort of an early birthday present!)
After that Fito & the band thanks the audience, they say "Have a safe ride home", "Dankeschön!" (twice) and "Goodnight!"

Soundquality: clear audience recording, not too much interference from the audience 9/10



01 Intro (0:30)
02 Bullfrog Blues (4:04)
03 On the Road again (6:02)
04 Time was (4:37)
05 Red hot Mama (aka Fine little Mama) (6:26)
06 Midnight Sun (7:47)
07 So sad (The World's in a Tangle) (7:51)
08 Going up the Country (5:10)
09 Future Blues (4:21)
10 Sugar Bee (3:59)
11 Christo Redentor (8:21)
12 Let's work together & Band Intros (6:40)
13 Birthday Boogie (The Boogie & Happy Birthday) (23:11)


Enjoy this recording anyway you want (I have uploaded both the flac- and the mp3 version), share it, but please keep my notes and the album art together with the audio files!
DON'T SELL - only free sharing or trading!