Captain Beefheart & The Magic Band
Tivolis Koncertsalen, KÝbenhavn, Denmark
Tivoli Gardens
April 11, 1972

Eric: The gig in Copenhagen was weird also. I had bought a ticket in advance but ran out of money a week before the concert. I survived somehow with the help of some friends because I really wanted to go, but I was pretty hungry when I went. I hitchhiked back to Holland right after the show. There was a support act and those Danes were doing already some very heavy drinking before the pause. Many of them went sick and the personnel was handing out buckets for the people to throw up. I had to divide my attention to the concert and the people around me, taking care not to be hit by splatters of vomit. The concert was great. The band started to play without the Captain who was first announced as the master of fake and then as the master of truth.

Colin David Webb: One point of interest in the Copenhagen concert is that Beefheart introduces the instrumental version of Steal Softly Through Snow as One For The Cuckoo Bird, confusing fans who thought it was new. Later in the set he played Spitball Scalped A Baby, another of his sax and drums outings, finishing with Japan Is A Dishpan.
(Blimp Over Europe #1)

Captain Beefheart/Don Van Vliet: vocals, saxophone, harmonica
Rockette Morton/Mark Boston: bass guitar, guitar
Orejon-Audi Hon/Roy Estrada: bass guitar
Zoot Horn Rollo/Bill Harkleroad: guitar, slide guitar
Winged Eel Fingerling/Elliot Ingber: guitar, slide guitar
Ed Marimba/Art Tripp: drums, percussion

01-Hair Pie: Bake III (1:33)
02-Smoking Rio 6 (1:13)
03-Hair Pie: Bake III (0:51)
04-The Mascara Snake (0:38)
05-The Mascara Fake (0:28)
06-The Mascara For God's Sake (1:17)
07-When It Blows Its Stacks (4:35)
08-Click Clack (4:55)
09-Grow Fins (5:18)
10-Band Intro (1:43)
11-Hobo Chang Ba (3:00)
12-I'm Gonna Booglarize You Baby (5:49)
13-Old Black Snake (3:24)
14-Peon (2:52)
15-Abba Zaba (3:00)
16-Woe-Is-Uh-Me-Bop (2:30)
17-Alice In Blunderland (6:15)
18-My Human Gets Me Blues (3:54)
19-Steal Softly Thru Snow (AKA One For The Cuckoo Bird) (3:01)
20-Saxophone-Drums Duet (2:31)
21-Golden Birdies (2:13)
22-Spitball Scalped A Baby (13:19)
23-Japan In A Dishpan (2:10) cut

Total length: 1:16:29

AUD>tape 3rd gen>Wavelab 5>WAV>time correction (side 1 of the tape was 5% too slow), heavy boosting the midrange, cutting some bass and treble above 10 khz, using Freefilter and Timeworks Mastering EQ>FLAC frontend>FLAC (level 8)

Sound quality:
7.5 of 10