Clay Allison
1984-05-22 ::: Pittsburgh, Allegheny County, Pennsylvania, USA ::: Electric Banana
3887 Bigelow Boulevard in the North Oakland section ::: M?-AUD/SBD (or stage patch) mix

~*~ Mk3 version, carefully remastered fixing various issues, NO EQ* but WITH lite NR ~*~

01. Grains Of Sand
02. Lisa's Funeral
03. Lullabye
04. Hear The Wind Blow
05. Freight Train
06. Fell From The Sun
07. ? ->
08. No Easy Way Down

Encore :::
09. Indian Summer

Total Time ::: 52:59

::: EX- stereo recording. Check samples for acquisition eligibility.
::: Warts: Repaired dullspots & dropouts but surely missed a few. #01 almost mono, #02-09 wide stereo but had extreme variable delay issue offset, now somewhat corrected. #08 seamless tapeflip hanwaker splice.
::: CONTRAST CLAUSE: "Mk1" is original 2009-04-xx hanwaker transfer/DIME upload, reseed @
::: CONTRAST CLAUSE: This is the superior Mk3 version with lite NR & NO EQ except notches. The Mk2 remaster without EQ or NR is available elsewhere.
::: Electric Banana site says 1984-05-22 & probably right. Presumably circulating 05-24 date incorrect (probably CD-R cover art).
::: #07 sounds like the end jam of "Interstellar Overdrive" to me, how 'bout you?
::: Previously listed as SBD but is stereo L channel AUD mike & R channel SBD (or stage mike/mike at PA speaker).
::: Tape was miserably slow (4.6%). Fixed & now it sounds more like Clay Allison.
::: The Cynics were the opening act.
::: Venue info :::
::: POST Rain Parade & Dream Syndicate (among others). PRE Opal, Mazzy Star (and many more).
::: Sally Gardens reissuing Opal's 'Happy Nightmare Baby'&'Early Recordings'CDs 2020-01-24.

Recording/Transfer Information ::: L channel audience microphone/R channel soundboard or stage patch mike -> unknown recording equipment -> master stereo tape -> ? -> unknown generation analog cassette (seethelight collection #06) -> Nakamichi CR-7E cassette recorder (azimuth aligned) -> Edirol 04 -> wav -> Audacity (channel levels adjusted) -> Nero WaveEditor (more level adjustments, fades, tapeflip splice) -> CD Wave (track splits) -> flacs

DimeTravel Remastering 2019-12-xx ::: unknown generation flacs -> Audacity [normalisation to remove DC offset, channel/phase/delay alignment, fades, manual one-at-a-time glitch, bump, clap, pop, click, dropout & dullspot repairs, lots of volume adjustments, +4.6% averaged pitch (speed) fix with single pass after frequency analysis & with pitchpipe verification, NO equalisation *except a couple of low-end notches, lite (but needed) noise reduction for hiss (channels done separately & seems to have left no undesired artifacts)] -> CD Wave (track splits) -> flacs (Trader's Little Helper) -> yr ears. NOTE: This Mk3 version also has additional volume corrections not applied to the Mk2 version. Freed 2019-12-xx.

Line-up ::: David Roback - electric guitar, vocals // Kendra Smith - electric bass, vocals // Keith Mitchell (R.I.P. 2017) - drums.

Nothing here ever commercially released to my knowledge. If I'm wrong, please advise & I'll take the offending trax offline.

DimeTravel 543 ::: Thanks to the original taper & traders & uploader! ::: Corrections welcome ::: If you isolate the R channel as mono and listen to it, you'll see there's a fair amount of audience mixed in, but then there are some on stage electric noises or mike delays, etc that seem to indicate a line recording. I suspect it's an on-stage mike, but it's possible someone placed it right into a PA speaker. The left mike is clearly an audience capture. Whatever the case, one of the best live gigs from our limited selection of Clay Allison recordings, and now greatly improved. Clay Allison & Opal still remain vastly unrated in the rock pantheon IMO, perhaps the new reissues will give them more of the stature they have long deserved. After all, we grooved on M.Star's first for about 10 years before it really settled in as one of the greats in the bigger picture. Listen, enjoy, show appreciation, share, give, spread peace. Yrs truly, Knees

Support the artists! --

Do whatever you want with it except sell it, 'cause that ain't cool!