Commander Cody & His Lost Planet Airmen
1976-02-10 ::: Lyon, France ::: Théâtre xxxxx(?) ::: M-AUD

~*~ Mk3 16bit/44.1Hz version, slightly remastered, with differential EQ & lite NR ~*~

01. == audience/tuning/band intro==
02. The Battle of New Orleans (instrumental)
03. ==Commander intro'd/song intro==
04. Smoke! Smoke! Smoke! (That Cigarette)
05. ==applause/song intro ==
06. 18 Wheels
07. ==applause/song intro ==
08. Mama Hated Diesels
09. ==applause/song intro ==
10. Steel Guitar Rag
11. ==applause/song intro ==
12. Ubangi Stomp
13. ==bandmember introductions ->
14. It Should've Been Me
15. ==applause/song intro ==
16. I'll Sail My Ship Alone
17. ==applause/song intro ==
18. Seeds And Stems (Again)
19. ==applause/song intro ==
20. Big Mammau
21. ==applause/song intro ==
22. Please, Louise
23. ==applause/song intro ==
24. The Race Is On
25. ==applause/song intro ==
26. House Of Blue Lights
27. ==applause/song intro ==
28. San Antonio Rose
29. ==applause/song intro ==
30. Truck Drivin' Man
31. ==applause/song intro ==
32. That's What I Like About The South
33. ==applause/song intro ==
34. Rip It Up
35. ==applause/song intro ==
36. Beat Me Daddy, Eight to the Bar
37. ==applause/song intro ==
38. Hold On To What You ’ve Got
39. ==applause/song intro ==
40. Gypsy Fiddle (instrumental)
41.==applause/song intro ==
42. C'mon Everybody/Let's Get Together ->
43. Riot In Cell Block #9

Encore One :::
44. ==audience / band re-intro'd / song intro==
45. Hot Rod Lincoln

Encore Two :::
46. ==audience==
47. Blue Suede Shoes
48. ==audience/band thanks==

Total Time ::: 1:41:54

::: VG++ decent enough for dancin' AUD. Check samples for "rocks me" or "rocks me not" .
::: Warts: Almost none! Tape was in EXC shape. Some clapping from #42 to end.
::: CONTRAST CLAUSE: This is the Mk3 16bit/44.1Hz with EQ & lite NR version. The Mk1 24bit/96Hz NO EQorNR version is available elsewhere.
::: CONTRAST CLAUSE: This is the Mk3 16bit/44.1Hz with EQ & lite NR version. The Mk2 16bit/44.1Hz NO EQorNR version is available elsewhere.
::: Complete uncut show. Unknown if there was an opening band. Name of theatre unknown. Recorded from front row.
::: Band's most recent (5th) LP was "Tales From The Ozone" 1975. "Gypsy Fiddle" is the only song played from it here.
::: Band plays ONLY"That's What I Like About The South"from their"C.Cody&His Lost Planet Airmen" 1975 (4th) LP.
::: "Steel Guitar Rag" cover seemingly unissued by C.Cody but appears on a few live recordings from 1973/1974.
::: Tracks #16/22/24/38/42 possibly not on any other C.Cody albums or live recordings (but I could well be wrong!).
::: #22 unissued Norton Buffalo&John McPhee song.1976-05-13 Library of Congress copright reg. 1st&only version to appear?
::: Same tour as "We've Got A Live One Here!" (2LP set recorded at 3 UK gigs 1-2 weeks before this one).
::: "We've Got A Live One Here!" was Aylesbury 1976-01-24//London 1976-01-25//Oxford 1976-02-02.
::: Only about 5 songs here appeared on "We've Got A Live One Here!"LP. This is almost entirely different material.
::: Excepting the compliled"We've Got A Live One Here!"LP, this is the only early'76 FULL live C.Cody&HLPA gig tape.
::: The only other early 1976 LPA tape around is a partial set from 1976-03-14 NYC KBFH.
::: C.Cody&HLPA probably broke up by April '76 but played in Oct.'76 under that name (probably different line-up).
::: AFAIK, only 1 tape circulates from Oct.'76 tour, 1976-10-17 New Orleans,LA Rosy's Music Club.
::: "The New Commander Cody Band"aka"Commander Cody Band"arrived in '77 w/"Rock 'N Roll Again"LP. All-new band.
::: EU Feb.'76 tour included Amsterdam 14th/Rotterdam 16th/Brussels 18th a.o. SURELY there are Dutch tapes. Can YOU help?

Recording Information ::: UHER 4400 Report Stereo Reel To Reel Tape Recorder, unknown microphone -> master BASF LH hifi 13cm/5" 3&2/4ips mono audience reel -> (2020-08-xx) Teac reel machine -> Sony Linear PCM Recorder PCM-M10 (96Hz/24bit WAV files).

Remastering 2020-08-xx ::: 24bit/96Hz master tape wavs -> Audacity [normalisation to remove DC offset, volume adjustments, x5 averaged +2.4 to +3.8 pitch (speed) fixes applied with single pass per segment after frequency analysis & with pitchpipe verification, differential equalisation & lite noise reduction applied, dithered to 16bit/44.1Hz] -> CD Wave (track splits) -> flacs (Trader's Little Helper) -> yr ears. Freed 2020-08-xx.

Line-up ::: George Frayne IV aka "Commander Cody" - piano, vocals // William Knight "Bill" Kirchen - lead electric guitar, trombone, vocals // Billy C. Farlow - vocals // Bobby Black - pedal steel guitar // Phillip Jackson aka "Norton Buffalo" (R.I.P. 2009) - harmonica, trombone, vocals // Rick Higginbotham - acoustic & electric rhythm guitar // Andrew "Andy" Stein - fiddle, tenor saxophone // Paul "Buffalo" Bruce Barlow - electric bass, vocals // Lance Dickerson (R.I.P. 2003) - drums, harmony vocals.

Nothing here ever commercially released to my knowledge. If I'm wrong, please advise & I'll take the offending trax offline.

DimeTravel 662 ::: Thanks to the original taper, PM! Transfer thanks to RO! Sincere thanks to whomever uploads this for me. ::: Corrections welcome ::: One of the finest dancin' bands in the land in their day. Oh, them boys sure could boogie. Saw them opening for New Riders Of The Purple Sage in '73 & The Lost Planet Airmen knocked NRPS off the stage. Listen, enjoy, show appreciation, share, give, spread peace. Yrs truly, Knees

Support the artists and/or their families! -- -- -- -- -- -- --

Do whatever you want with it except sell it, 'cause that ain't cool!