Hall & Oates (acoustic show)
Jones Beach
Wantagh, NY (USA)
July 16, 1991

Excellent digital soundboard recording (from DAT master)

Another stellar recording from "The RS Arvhives"
(a Mexminute/TheCommish production)

** mp3 samples provided (as always) in the Comments section **

101. Out Of Touch
102. Say It Isn't So
103. Family Man
104. Starting All Over Again
105. Change Of Season
106. She's Gone
107. One On One
108. Don't Hold Back Your Love
109. Everytime You Go Away
110. Las Vegas Turnaround
111. Only Love
112. Camellia
113. Wait For Me

201. Abandoned Luncheonette
202. I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)
203. Sara Smile
204. Maneater
205. Band intro
206. So Close
207. Crowd applause
208. Rich Girl
209. Hot Fun In The Summertime

DAT master > Sony PCM-R500 (playback) > HHB CDR-850 (burning) > CDR, then
CDR > EAC > WAV > Editing (see below) > FLAC Frontend > FLAC

Editing notes:
* After listening to this terrific show a number of times, I was continually frustrated by the fact that Disc 1 had some volume discrepancies amongst its tracks. Specifically, the volume on Tracks 101-102 and Tracks 110-112 seemed disproportionately low compared to the other tracks found on Disc 1. After agonizing over the decision to alter RS' original files or not, I decided on a reasonable compromise: I'll adjust them, but I'll include both the volume-adjusted tracks (which I think sound better) AND the original, non-volume-adjusted tracks (for the purists out there who want the unaltered versions). That way, everyone's happy--and the inclusion of the 5 unaltered tracks, which adds only 109 MB to the torrent, is not prohibitive by any means. This way, YOU can decide if you prefer the altered versions or not. (The volume-adjusted versions are in the main torrent folder; the unaltered versions of the 5 tracks are in a separate subfolder within the main torrent folder.)
* In reference to the point above, the following volume adjustments were made on Disc 1: Essentially all of Tracks 101-102 were increased +2dB, and essentially all of Tracks 110-112 were increased +4dB. In addition, since the between-song chatter found between Tracks 110-111 and Tracks 111-112 was difficult to hear, the volume of those sections was increased even more so that it would be easier to hear. No volume adjustments were needed on Disc 2.
* Re-tracked show (combined WAV files in Nero, then re-split with CD Wave)
* Removed extremely small glitch at 1:38 mark of Track 108

Show notes:
This tour was in support of the duo's "Change of Season" album. A review of the album (posted on this website: http://popdose.com/tag/john-oates/): "'Change of Season' was promoted as Hall & Oates' return to their "acoustic" roots--their 1991 tour was even named 'Acoustic Power'--but that's more than a little misleading. Though there are certainly plenty of acoustic guitars here, 'Season' is propped up with a plethora of various synths and other production trinkets. It's about as 'unplugged' as anything calling itself 'unplugged' in 1990."

I'd say this "acoustic" show can be summarized in the same manner as above.

Joining Daryl Hall & John Oates in this show are:
Bobby Mayo - keyboards
Tom "T-Bone" Wolk - guitar
Kasim Sultan - bass
Michael Braun - drums
Lisa Haney - cello
Eileen Ivers - violin
Charles DeChant - horns

About "The RS Archives":
The RS Archive consists of a selection of live recordings made by a great individual who passed away in 2005.

RS worked in the music industry in many capacities….a music fan….a musician….a sound engineer. He was considered one of the best behind the mixing board. I was honored to have known him for practically 35 years. There was no one like him….he was a wonderful human being. Everybody loved him. He was a level-headed guy who knew what sounded good and what didn't. He could conceive and design sound systems from scratch in his head to meet the artist’s needs. Whatever they wanted, he could do.

For years, he mixed music at the annual Grammy Awards and the American Music Awards television show. RS worked closely for years with Daryl Hall and John Oates, Juice Newton, Anita Baker, Mariah Carey, Tears for Fears, Crack the Sky, Kid Creole and the Coconuts, Aretha Franklin, Pink Floyd, Whitney Houston, Bette Midler, Ann Murray, Michael Bolton, Kenny G, Tony Bennett, Johnny Cash, Eric Clapton, John Fogerty, Bonnie Raitt, Frank Sinatra, John Hiatt, Little Feat, Little Village, and Waylon Jennings…..to name a few.

He had a huge reputation in the business, and that's why he was chosen to work with such budding clients as Mariah Carey. With the major stars, he was one of the preferred engineers they choose to work with. A particular client of RS who had a reputation for firing sound engineers with great regularity was Anita Baker, whom he won over not only with his technical abilities and personality, but with his refusal to put up with her criticism. He quit a few times but always came back because she loved the way he mixed her music. He could coddle difficult and temperamental celebrities, and they respected his work. He was able to kick back and get along with them. Even though he knew these people, he was a very modest man.

So now, it is time to honor him by sharing some of the many recordings he made while on the road. All are perfect (or near perfect) soundboard recordings made from the master cassettes or master dat tapes. Unfortunately, I am not able to identify the original equipment these tapes were made on, however I can say that for the transferring process, the cassette tapes were played back on a Nakamichi CR-7A, and the dat tapes on a Sony PCM-R500. They were all burnt onto cdr using a HHB CDR-850.

Please enjoy these tasty gems!
Mexminute (fellow DIME member).

If you decide to download this show, won't you please consider posting a comment on the show's board? It only takes a moment, and believe me, it takes A LOT longer to prepare/upload a show for others to enjoy than it does to download and run.

And won't you please consider thanking Mexminute for sharing this mighty fine show with us?

Generously shared by Mexminute
and uploaded on DIME by TheCommish
November 2008