Dave Gonzalez & the Stone River Boys
Featuring Mike Barfield
Waterfront Blues Festival
Portland, OR.
July 3, 2009

Recorded from KBOO FM a local all volunteer radio station. There are always reception problems and drops in sound from this station. Maybe it's just where I live. Anyway, I have tried to find and fix all the drops in sound. This year not all the first day was broadcast. Not sure why. Etta James canceled and was replaced by Keb Mo' but his recording contract wouldn't allow his broadcast.

Please understand that I don't know all these bands and it's hard for me to come up with all the set list's. I'll do my best and ask for help when needed.

Linage: FM tuner straight to HD>CD Wave>TLH>FLAC>torrent.

This is a big undertaking for me every year and I love doing it. Please leave your comments, I enjoy reading them. Enjoy the tunes, twofthrs

When the Hacienda Brothers released their third and final studio album titled Arizona Motel last year, guitarist Dave Gonzalez was left with the unfortunate task of promoting the new release without his partner Chris Gaffney. Gaffney, a founding member who was also the band’s lead vocalist and accordion player, died unexpectedly from liver cancer in April. So Gonzalez put together an Austin all-star band last summer to hit some of The Bros. favorite venues, and it was Gonzalez himself who took over the onstage vocal duties for all of Gaffney’s songs, nailing them with emotion and finesse night after night. Gonzalez’s outstanding performances are no surprise to those who followed The Paladins, where Gonzalez did the bulk of the singing for over 20 years.

The wild card in the summer band was Austin’s Mike Barfield. While some people might have mistakenly looked at Barfield as an attempt to replace Gaffney, the fact and the results couldn’t be further from that: Barfield proved to be just the breath of fresh air the shows needed to keep them fun-loving and spontaneous. Barfield is a singer that Gaffney respected and enjoyed. Barfield has fronted his own band, The Hollisters, and spent the last few years creating his own brand of country-soul, recently releasing two CDs of largely original material. The most recent, The Tyrant (Tater Tot Recordings) takes its name from Barfield’s nickname as The Tyrant of Texas Funk. The CD features a slew of fun, soulful, funky and sometimes irreverent songs like “Funky Cupcake” and “The Struggle.” When Barfield breaks into his screaming whoops and animated country-soul dance you’ll want to join the infectious good time. Gaffney would have loved this pairing.

Set List
1. insturmental
2. ?
3. midnight dream
4. i've got leavin' on my mind
5. lovers prison
6. she's my yum yum
7. walking on my dreams
8. ?
9. start all over again
10. the ordinary fool
11. the struggle