David Bowie
Madison Square Garden, New York, USA
May - 7 - 1978

Audience tape of unknown generation received in a trade back in the 80's

Rec. Info:
Cassette of unknown generation -> transfer via Onkyo tapedeck TA-2330 -> Magix Music Cleaning Lab (remaster/edit) -> FLAC (44,1 kHz, 16 Bit, Stereo) -> DIME
It was my greatest challenge so far to remaster this tape. Principally the sound quality was very good (I think it is a relative low gen copy)
but with the following restrictions:
1. tape running too fast
2. very thin bass
3. always changing sound level, especially at the start of the tracks very low level
4. some cuts (mainly betwen songs) with gaps
5. my tape copy is made on 2 C60 tapes, at the end of each tape side a song is started and then cut. On the next tape side the song is started again.
All of these "problems" I tried to solve by the following measures:
1. tape speed corrected (as good as possible)
2. bass level increased
3. sound level equalized as good as possible
4. gaps between songs removed
5. waste song fragments removed
The result in my opinion was really worth all work and I think it is one of the better recordings of the 1978 tour as the sound is very clear and with the bass improvement
I would rate it as vg+. Also the balance between band and audience is quite nice as to give it an authentic "live" experience.

The concert itself is simply great and it seems to be the full show even if the first track is slightly cut in.
This is 100 min. pure Bowie magic and the audience pays it back. It must have been a great experience to be at this gig.
The show has been on dime already in 2009 uploaded by blackout. I can't say how the quality of this upload was in comparison to mine but I beg that blackout had to struggle
with the same challenges as me according to his comments. Also a part of the show is on mindwarp uploaded by steve23yh.
The sound quality seems to be comparable.

Tape length 99:42 min.

01 Warszawa (small cut)
02 "Heroes"
03 What In The World
04 Be My Wife
05 The Jean Genie
06 Blackout (2/3 only)
07 Sense Of Doubt
08 Speed Of Life
09 Breaking Glass
10 Beauty And The Beast
11 Fame
12 Five Years
13 Soul Love
14 Star
15 Hang Onto Yourself
16 Ziggy Stardust
17 Suffragette City
18 Art Decade
19 Alabama Song
20 Station To Station
21 Stay
22 TVC-15
23 Rebel Rebel

Support the artists, go to their shows, buy their albums.
Do not convert to lossy files, unless for personal use. Don't ever sell!

Tour band Isolar II 1978:

David Bowie - vocals, chamberlain
Adrian Belew - lead guitar, backing vocals
Carlos Alomar - rhythm guitar, backing vocals
George Murray - bass guitar, backing vocals
Dennis Davis - drums, percussion
Roger Powell - keyboards, synthesizer, backing vocals (except 11�14 November 1978)
Dennis Garcia - keyboards, synthesizer (11�14 November 1978 only)
Sean Mayes - piano, string ensemble, backing vocals
Simon House - electric violin

Uploaded to DIME by Stacheleber 2013/08/21