Edgar Broughton Band 1998-07-18

Burg Herzberg Open Air, Breitenbach (Hof Huhnstadt), Germany, AUD (almost complete)

Label: none
Sound quality: good audience (mike was placed right on top of the soundboard/light tower)
Lineage: Recorded with Philips DCC 170 on DCC tape (also Philips) with unknown stereo mike > copy on Maxell XLII (1999) > transfer with wavelab > Verbatim CDR (2004) > EAC (2013) > you

Not commercially released by the band.

As 99% of my other uploads are too, this is my very own recording of this "infamous" power outage show. I really had forgotten that I recorded it myself until I found the original DCC cassettes in my vaults when spacebandit asked for a more complete show.
The DCCs haven't been erased yet, so once I have organized a new DCC player I will be able to create an even better copy than the one I can offer here.
This is as far as I know the most complete recording of this memorable show at the BHOA. Hardly ever traded (in 2004 via snail mail is all I can recall) - new to DIME and new to the virtual world.

My recording sounds a little closer to the amps than the previous version by spacebandit BUT: the bass is a little too dominant for my ears (which is a matter of taste anyway).
Only half a second inbetween and a few minutes at the end are missing.
There has to be one tape flip which is so short that I couldn't detect it - remember those auto-reverse DCC recorders?
And finally, in the end the tape ran out, I suppose - and I wasn't able to move quickly enough.
Not sure if they only played three songs as a second set - but very likely: it was really late (better - quite early) for all involved and the musical (and audible) part of the show lastet at least 100 minutes all in all.

By the way: There is no Kalle Becker on my recording ;-) it's just the band and the audience.

Humble question: anyone able to create a matrix for an ultimate version?

Out Demons Out - although not complete - is among the best versions I have ever heared!

Set 1:
1. Evening over rooftops
2. Speak down the wires
3. The whale
4. Green lights > Edgar's speech
5. Why can't somebody love me ?
6. Chilly morning momma
7. Love in the rain
8. Vote for me
9. Refugee (nowhere to go)
10. Signal injector
11. The kiss
12. Lalala (I got you)

Total: 72:53

Set 1 ctd:
1. My dream (The psychopath is for butterflies) ... power failure*
Set 2:
2. Cool dark room
3. Hotel room
4. Out demons, out (not complete, so I faded it out)

Total: 28:38

* you can hear the comments of the desperate sound crew here quite clearly.

I'm not sure of a few track titles, so please feel free to correct!

Sorry, no artwork - I was too "lazy" to take any photos once I got my gear in position. Those were the daze...
But at least I have mighty fine poster art for YOU to create a decent cover for us. So please, go ahed...

Support the artists, go to their concerts and buy the official releases!

Have fun! And NO MP3, please (unless you don't believe in reincarnation)!

Watch out for a collection of my previous uploads in th extra textfile.

Images for all shows as well as full size images for this show.

Images for this show: