The Flaming Lips
Performing the album Clouds Taste Metallic
First Avenue, Minneapolis, MN
February 24, 2015

Zoom H2 (internal mic, rear 120-degree spread cardioid) -> wav transfer via USB -> EQ in SONAR -> volume adjustments in Audicty -> tracks split in Goldwave -> flac encoding in TLH lv 8

Floor, center of room, approx 35 feet from stage.

Recorded & mixed by soniclovenoize

1. (intro)
2. The Abandoned Hospital Ship
3. Psychiatric Explorations of the Fetus with Needles
4. Placebo Headwound
5. This Here Giraffe
6. Brainville
7. Brainville (take 2)
8. Guy Who Got a Headache and Accidentally Saves the World
9. When You Smile
10. Kim's Watermelon Gun
11. They Punctured My Yolk
12. Lightning Strikes the Postman
13. Christmas at the Zoo
14. Evil Will Prevail
15. Bad Days

16. What is The Light?
17. The Observer
18. Vein of Stars

Pretty good performance of the band�s entire 1995 album Clouds Taste Metallic. Some rare setlist events here: first ever performances of �This Here Giraffe� and �Brainville�; first performance of �Christmas at The Zoo� since 1995; first performance of �Guy Who Got A Headache� since 1996; and the first performance of �Bad Days� since 2009.

The show was being professionally filmed for a documentary on the making of Clouds Taste Metallic and Wayne Coyne urged the audience to be especially loud and cheery, increasing our chances of being personally featured in the documentary. Unfortunately for me, this lead to an audience-heavy recording although it is still very listenable and enjoyable.

Also of note, based on my position of dead center of the room on the floor and the fact that Wayne�s �bubble dock� appeared directly behind me halfway through the show, the event of me being crushed by Wayne Coyne in a bubble is completely audible during �Vein of Stars�.

The Flaming Lips:
Wayne Coyne � lead vocals, acoustic guitar on 4, 6, 7 & 14, electric guitar on 2 & 17
Steven Drozd � backing vocals, guitar, keyboards, drums on 2, 9 & 12
Michael Ivins � bass

Derek Brown � guitar, keyboards
Jake Ingalls � guitar
Matt Duckworth � drums, keyboards
Nick Ley � percussion, samples

Please share freely and support the artist.

Images for all shows as well as full size images for this show.

Images for this show:

FlamingLips2015-02-24FirstAveMinneapolisMN (1).jpg
FlamingLips2015-02-24FirstAveMinneapolisMN (2).jpg