Frank Zappa
Johanneshovs Isstadion
1979 03 03

~~ Unknown generation tape, patched ~~

Current FZshows entry:
1979 03 03 - Johanneshovs Isstadion, Stockholm, Sweden
105 min, Aud, B-
105 min, Aud, B
Treacherous Cretins, Dead Girls Of London, I Ain't Got No Heart, Brown Shoes Don't Make It, Cosmik Debris, Tryin' To Grow A Chin, City Of Tiny Lights, Dancin' Fool, Easy Meat, Jumbo Go Away, Andy, Inca Roads, Florentine Pogen, Honey Don't You Want A Man Like Me?, Keep It Greasey, The Meek Shall Inherit Nothing, For The Young Sophisticate, Wet T-Shirt Nite, Why Does It Hurt When I Pee?, Peaches En Regalia, Montana, Dirty Love

This copy: 107.11 min, Aud, B+ (patches from alternate B/B- source)

Lineage: AUD>unknown equipment>cassette>TDK SA 90 (3rd pt on TDK D 90>Pioneer CT-W606DR tape deck>SB THX>AU CC 2014>wav>Flac (TLH)>SF10 (speed correction, editing, patches)>wav>flac (TLH, SBE checked)

Taped by: unknown
Transferred by: BengoFury
Speed corrected by: Flambay
Edited by: Galeans and Flambay

Audience source: Unknown generation tape

Fills from arf same source (unknown generation, 91:30 min, AUD, B+/B)
Lineage: aud > cassette (unknown gen.) > wav > fla c> SF10 (Phase offset adjusted) > wav > flac
Taped by: unknown
Transferred by: Arf
Edited by: Flambay

Fills from BobM/Doctorzap alternate source (2nd generation, 90 min, AUD, B/B-)
Lineage: 2nd Gen Cassette Tape > Nakamichi DR-1 > Realtek HDAudio pentium i7 > Soundforge 10 Pro Highest quality setting Izotope 64 bit src downsampling / MBIT+dither > TLH
Taped by: unknown
Collected by: BobM
Transferred by: Doctorzap
Speed corrected by: Flambay

== Frank Zappa's Band, February - April 1979 ==

FZ, Ike Willis, Denny Walley, Warren Cucurullo, Arthur Barrow, Vinnie Colaiuta, Ed Mann, Tommy Mars, Peter Wolf.


01 Crowd Noise [00:15] ��� taken from source 2
02 Treacherous Cretins [08:02] ��� switch to main source at 0:07
03 Band Intros [01:16]
04 Dead Girls of London [02:33]
05 I Ain't Got No Heart [02:07]
06 Brown Shoes Don't Make It [07:01]
07 Cosmik Debris [03:56]
08 Tryin' To Grow A Chin [03:17]
09 City of Tiny Lights [09:14]
10 Dancin' Fool [03:23]
11 Easy Meat [07:43] ��� fill from source 2 0:37-1:22, cut 1:09 music missing, flaw 1:11
12 Jumbo Go Away [04:48]
13 Andy [05:11] ��� fill from Arf's copy 3:25-29
14 Inca Roads [07:25] ��� flaw 6:14
15 Florentine Pogen [05:08]
16 Honey Don't You Want A Man Like Me? [04:24] ��� fill from Arf's copy 1:23-28
17 Keep It Greasey [03:18]
18 The Meek Shall Inherit Nothing [03:19]
19 For The Young Sophisticate [02:31]
20 Wet T-Shirt Nite [01:22] ��� cuts out, music missing
21 Why Does It Hurt When I Pee? [02:25] ��� cuts in, beginning missing
22 Peaches En Regalia [03:17]
23 Encore Break [02:16]
24 Montana [04:37]
25 Dirty Love [03:20]
26 Post Show Outro [04:52]

Total time (patched version): 107.11 min

Unpatched tracks
included in separate subfolder (90,3 MB)
all tracks here aligned with those in main folder:

02 Treacherous Cretins [07:55] ��� cuts in, beginning missing
11 Easy meat [06:59] ��� cut 0:37, music missing

Total time (unpatched version): 106.01 min

Another nice show which has never appeared on the main tracker, so far. For a long time, the most commonly circulating version was a mp3 rip from BengoFury's tape which, in spite of being lossy, did sound quite good. In October 2012, Arf seeded a version from his tape, which was ok sounding, but was missing the encores. An alternate source taken from BobM's collection and ripped by DoctorZap was sampled by Flambay (B/B-, 90 minutes, not 105 as indicated on FZShows), but for a long time, the show remained dormant. Eventually, BengoFury ripped again his tape, this time lossless, and, after speed correction, it was clear that it was the best source. The other copies provided to be useful: the alternate source has material available for the tape flip in "Easy Meat" (even though, unfortunately, a small section is still missing) and BengoFury's version had brief cuts on "Andy" and "Honey, Don't You Want A Man Like Me?" that did not appear on Arf's copy. Unfortunately, there was no source material for the tape flip during "Wet T-Shirt Nite". So here it is now, the show as complete as possible in very nice sound quality; indeed, the B- rating that was on FZShows for a long time was quite unfairly. Apart from some distortion in the low frequencies (bass and kick drum), the tape is very clear and enjoyable. Someone suggested that this source tape could be a high generation SBD: however, voices near the microphones indicate that it's a quite good audience recording, with recording levels set a bit too high. A pat on Flambay's back is needed here: the speed on the original BengoFury source was quite inconsistent, but it now sounds perfectly linear.

If you like 1979, this is a show you will probably like. There are no monster songs, nor secret words variations (even though there is a funny comment regarding the acoustics of the stadium during the band intros), but it's solidly performed throughout and contains some very good FZ soloing, especially on "Treacherous Cretins", "City of Tiny Lights" and "Easy Meat". Also, I love the 1979 setlist, as it contains many of my favorite songs ("Brown Shoes Don't Make It", the OSFA medley�) and I think some of the early versions ("Jumbo Go Away", "The Meek Shall Inherit Nothing") are better than the definitive ones. In short, there are no good reasons not to get this!


Thanks to the unknown tapers!
Thanks to BengoFury for transferring!
Thanks to Flambay for speed correcting!
Thanks to Bobm, Doctorzap and Arf for the fills!

Enjoy !!

Brought to you by BengoFury, Flambay and Galeans - October 2015