Hawkwind - Ford Auditorium, Detroit. 28 November 1973


Master tape > Cassette > Soundstudio > CDR > xACT > FLAC


01 intro
02 technicians of spaceship earth
03 born to go
04 down through the night
05 the awakening
06 it's so easy
07 only dreaming
08 seven by seven
09 the watcher
10 paradox
11 better believe it
12 sonic attack
13 time we left
14 paranoia
15 d-rider
16 master of the universe
17 welcome
18 brainbox pollution
19 seeing it as you really are


In late 1973 Hawkwind undertook a their first tour of the U.S. taking in six venues. This was the first time on which a British group, appearing for the very first time in America, had topped its own tour. The Detroit show was the fourth date on the tour and the proceedings were captured on a cheap Memorex tape by an enterprising member of the audience. For many years the recording was forgotten about until a transfer was finally made to another cassette. The master tape is no longer in existence. Some copies of that first generation tape were made and have been in circulation for some time but it was not until 2002 that the first generation tape was properly transferred to digital form and transferred to CDR. Here is the band at it's best from start to finish and the recording boasts a better than the average sound quality for a Hawkwind audience recording of this era.


Dave Brock:guitar and vocals
Lemmy: bass and vocals
Del Dettmar: synthesiser
Simon King:drums
Nik Turner:sax, flute and vocals
Stacia: dance

Cover included.

Do not encode to MP3

Pass It On. JP 301215