Hawkwind - New York, Bottom Line Club, 06 March 1978 (Remaster)

01 - Intro
02 - Hassan-I-Sahba
03 - Instrumental Bridge
04 - Brainstorm
05 - Steppenwolf
06 - High Rise
07 - Robot
08 - Spirit Of The Age

Dave Brock - guitar, vocals
Robert Calvert - vocals
Simon House - keyboards, violin
Adrian Shaw - bass
Simon King - drums


Audience recording, pretty good - this is surely one of the better Calvert-era audience recordings.

Historical Details:

This is an incomplete version of one of their shows on their last tour before breaking up and becoming the Hawklords. Simon House left the band on March 13 to join David Bowie. On 28th March the band played their final gig in San Francisco to break up immeadiatly after.

Technical Details:

This one was seeded in March at dime. The seeder claimed this to be from the bootleg "Live at the Bottom Line". I doubt this because
a. it has no vinyl crackle at all
b. there is no record flip inbetween (although there was a gap in the middle - but this didn't sounded like a flip)
c. it is missing "Sonic Attack" which is on the vinyl
d. a mp3-version which also claims to be from the boot has all the above evidents and is notable different

So therefore I would guess this simply as an audience recording. Anyway, this is the best sounding version of all the the New York-Concerts I have heard.

The main reason for remaster was that the show sounded much too slow. I pitched it up to 11% (!!) taking the studio versions and the Leicester 77 versions as a reference. After this the show became quite lively and much more enjoyable.

After this I
- patched a drop-out in Hassan-I-Sabha at around 5.00
- removed a gap after "High Rise"
- removed some unrelated chatter at the end
- normalized the left and right channel
- made a decent fade-in/fade-out

So the new lineage would be

AUD -> ??? -> CDR -> EAC -> WAV -> FLAC -> Audacity -> CD Wave Editor (for cutting) > Flac