Five classic rock artists thrown together for a night of oldies and all for the price of $24. What more could you ask for? Out of the 5 artists I really wanted to hear Mark Farner play some classic Grand Funk. I hadn't seen any of the artists live before except Dave Mason back in the early 90's, but that was a forgettable set hidden amongst Edgar Winter, Poco, and Steppenwolf. Anyway, none of the artists disappointed. All had nice 30-35 minute sets except Mason who had about 40 with the last song, Feelin' Alright, a rousing romp that included Derringer and Farner along with a host of other sets' artists. All told there were 11 folks on stage for the last song.

The recording came out ok (about a B+ or so), but the acoustics of the theatre are more geared toward orchestras and plays and not the loud rock with heavy thumping bass. Hence, the low end will sound muddy and I couldn't clean it up much without losing the edge that the music needed. I was 11 rows back from the stage right in the center. Derringer's guitar work was not always up front and somewhat distorted, distortion pedal aside. Farner's set was smokin' and the songs of GF that I don't care for, such as Some Kind of Wonderful and The Loco-motion, still came off pretty good live. Sadly, I screwed up and picked up the wrong set of batteries from my desk and so Farner's last song, I'm Your Captain, and all of Mason's set, except We Just Disagree, are missing from this recording. Sorry about that. I could kick myself. But here are about 2 hours of the 3 hour show.

I've included a folder of photos from the show NOT taken by me except the last 5 which are of the last song of the night and taken with my crappy iphone camera.

R-09HR > PC > SoundForge > CD > FLAC > you

Hippiefest 2011
Felix Cavaliere, Rick Derringer, Gary Wright, Mark Farner, Dave Mason
Saenger Theatre
Mobile, AL
Sept. 1, 2011

Disc 1
1. Intro - Felix Cavaliere
2. I've Been Lonely Too Long
3. In The Midnight Hour
4. Groovin' / My Girl / Just My Imagination
5. People Got To Be Free
6. Good Lovin'
7. Intro - Rick Derringer
8. Still Alive And Well
9. talk
10. Star Spangled Banner
11. Real American
12. talk
13. Hang On Sloopy
13. Rock & Roll Hoochie Koo (w/Gary Wright)

Disc 2
1. Intro - Gary Wright
2. Waitin' For The Wind
3. Better By You, Better Than Me
4. talk
5. Dreamweaver
6. Love is Alive (w/Rick Derringer)
7. Intro - Mark Farner
8. Footstompin' Music
9. The Loco-motion
10. Sin's A Good Man's Brother
11. talk
12. Bad Time
13. Some Kind Of Wonderful
14. Intro - Dave Mason
15. We Just Disagree