James Taylor
and His All Star Band
Koussevitzky Music Shed
Lenox, Massachusetts
July 3, 2023

source: Zoom H2n XY mode > 16/44.1 > GoldWave (track splits, minor editing, clap reduction) > Trader's Little Helper (SBE correction, flac level 6)

Taped and mastered by DavePas63. Please don't sell. Please do not convert to lossy format and upload anywhere.

The All-Star Band:

Walt Fowler – Keyboards/Horns
Steve Gadd – Drums
Larry Goldings - Piano
Dorian Holley - Vocals
Jimmy Johnson – Bass
Mike Landau – Guitar
Lou Marini – Horns
Kate Markowitz – Vocals
Michito Sanchez – Percussion
Henry Taylor - Vocals
Kim Taylor - Vocals
Andrea Zonn – Vocals/Fiddle


Steady rain for an hour plus preceding the show. Skies miraculously cleared and rain stopped just as JT took the stage at 8:05. The show openend with a video montage of historical performances of Something in the Way She Moves, with JT joining the song in progress at the 2:55 mark.

Recorded from the left side on the stage, on the lawn a few feet from the walkway running in front of the Shed. Location was perfect for getting a clear sound from the speakers, but unlike last year (when I taped from an isolated spot in the woods behind the wine and beer bar with no one near me), there is the occasional audience chatter (particularly in the last two songs, as no one at Tangelwood waits for the show to be over before packing up and starting to head out). While last year's show had less chatter, I thought the recording was a bit distant and missing the live feeling. Overall a very good recording and a great performance. This is my sixth Tanglewood recording, and it features on of the better setlists, including a surprise Summertime Blues in the encores and Rainy Day Man in honor of the weather.

Enjoy the show and support the artists.

Samples included in comments, artwork included.

If burning to CD, first set (65:08) and second set/encore (59:53) each fit on a single CD.

Disc One (First Set)
First Set
01 Something in the Way She Moves*
02 banter
03 Rainy Day Man
04 Copperline
05 band introduction 1
06 Everybody Has the Blues
07 Mona the pig story
08 Mona
09 Some Days You Gotta Dance
10 Sweet Baby James
11 Country Road
12 band introduction 2
13 Steamroller Blues
14 band introduction 3
15 Mexico
16 end of first set banter
17 Up On the Roof
Second Set
18 Secret o' Life**
19 intro to You Make It Easy
20 You Make It Easy
21 You've Got a Friend
22 backup singers introduction
23 Carolina in My Mind
24 Raised Up Family
25 Fire and Rain
26 Shower the People
27 Your Smiling Face
28 encore applause
29 Summertime Blues
30 Shed a Little Light
31 You Can Close Your Eyes***

* - video montage of historical performances of Something in the Way She Moves. JT joins the song in progress at 3:00.
** - 0:49-0:54 patched with 2019 recording due to crowd noise
*** - with Henry Taylor