Audience recording of the McGarrigles. The capture of the music is essentially flawless, applause level has been balanced and the talk portions seamlessly raised. Many coughs, mic bumps, etc. have been edited out. Between song talk is in French. This post was inspired by rebetiko's many posts, for all of which thanks.

In late 1991 the Sisters did a tour of seven MDLCs and one show at the Flynn Theater in Burlington, VT. I found out about this only by reading a report about the first of them, so I missed Michel Pepin's first-ever appearance with the band. I heard about the Burlington show only after the event. I attended and recorded the other six and this is the second of them. The first was posted to DIME years ago.
A Maison de la Culture (MDLC) is to be found in most Montreal districts. It offers spaces for exhibition and performance, and in many cases also a library. Since in principle they are intended for use by locals, the facilities are on a relatively small scale.

Faults: Recording mic bumps (sorry), occasional coughing and contributions from a crying infant all are audible during talk only.

Montreal, QC -- MDLC Mercier
1991-10-23 -- 80:54

Set one: (42:50)
01. Prends ton manteau
02. Par un Dimanche au soir
03. -talk-
04. DJ Serenade
05. -talk-
06. I Eat Dinner
07. -talk-
08. Heart Like a Wheel
09. -talk-
10. Heartbeats Accelerating
11. -talk-
12. Parlez-nous a boire
13. -talk-
14. Mother, Mother
15. Love Is
16. -talk-
17. Kiss and Say Goodbye

Set two : (38:04)
01. -tuning- > Swimming Song
02. -tuning, talk-
03. J'ai tant dans´┐Ż
04. -talk-
05. Entre Lajeunesse et la sagesse
06. (Talk to Me of) Mendocino
07. -talk-
08. Excursion a Venise
09. -tuning-
10. Leave Me Be
11. -tuning-
12. Jigsaw Puzzle of Life
13. -band intro-
14. Complainte pour Ste-Catherine
15. -talk-
16. A la claire Fontaine
17. -talk, applause-

Kate McGarrigle, Anna McGarrigle, Philippe Tatartcheff- songwriters, except
s1t12: by The Balfa Brothers
s2t01: by Loudon Wainwright III
s2t03, s2t16: traditional

Kate McGarrigle -
Anna McGarrigle -
Michel Pepin - bass, harmony vocals
Joel Zifkin - violin

No artwork.

soure: recorded by stevemtl w/ supplied mic > WM-D3
Transfer: Expertly transferred to DAT (@16/48) by SM using a Nak Dragon with azimuth adjusted.
Mastering: DAT clone > R500 (@24/48) > HD > Soundforge (@24/48: trim, edit, fades, L2 level adjust) > r8brain (vhq downsample) > Soundforge (L2 dither) > CDwave (track cut) > TLH (flac level 8, ffp, md5) > TLH (torrent)
Posted to DIME 2016-04-17 by stevemtl.

Support Anna McGarrigle by purchasing official releases.
Please reduce to lossy for your own use only; do not pass such on.
Do not profit in any material way from this recording.