Kings Of Winter
Extra Blues Bar, Bielefeld, Germany
October - 29 - 2016

It's a Spacebandit so you're in there!

Rec. Info:
OKM2R -> ZoomH2n (@ WAV 16/44) -> Memorycard -> HD -> Audacity (edit/volume boost/balance only) -> WAV 16/44 -> TLH8 -> FLAC -> DIME -> YOUR EARS AND MIND...
Recorded by yours loony Spacey @ app. one meter right of the stage lazing on a comfortable barstool at the bar. First set turned out very fine with just a bit of chatters, then
it was fireworks outside and the small but very fine location was soon packed to the limit for the second set which recording was a bit more disturbed by hollers, screams and
the usual "boohoos" you'll get from a sat nite party crowd. But definitely not a bummer...System sound was a bit limited, but hell yeah, far better than I'd experienced from other
locations of this size. Sorry, no pics, too dark for my crappy camera...

Sometimes you can take your chances, sometimes they just fall into your lap...About half a year ago I was sitting with my good friend Lars from Oslo lazing on a beergarden bench
before the Motorpsycho concert at Hannover's Faust when I listened to some mobile phone talk from a guy besides me about the traffic situation in Bielefeld. As you know, this town
(that does not exist!) may be close to my home, so we got into a chat. Later, during the show, this guy - Markus - saved me from an annoying drunken asshole, so me and Lars decided
to take him on a ride to the next MP show in Osnabrueck, including a safe travel home. After some mailing we decided to go to the MP Oldenburg show, too. And as lame and restricted as
I am, a friendship developed nicely. Little did I know that he's a kind of professional musician, singing in at least four bands and doing vocal teaching at "Music School" in Bielefeld,
so I was invited to see, hear and experience one of his bands, the KINGS OF WINTER last saturday night. Thanks gratefully for the stay, the aftershow musicial journey until 6 am (a song
by the Pretty Things come to mind "Midnight to six men"), the very fine show...this would be not the last time, I know.

The Band Kings of Winter born 2006 in New Jersey, USA and formed by Lance Christensen (Guitar/Vocs). First as a Duo with his friend Jay Moran (also Guitar/Vocs), they toured through New Jersey and Manhatten, New York.
In the year of 2008, Lance came up to Germany and reformed Kings of Winter new as a full band with Christoph Stocksmeier (Bass), Tom Kretzschmann (Drums/Percussion) and Markus Brand (Vocals/Harmonica/Percussion).
All the new members and Lance himself, are teaching music at the Musicschool Bielefeld.
The Band plays a lot of traditionals, so from all their gigs they'd played through the years and especially in the Extra Blues Bar (their living room in Bielefeld), they known by the fans as a Traditional Folk-Rock Band.
Most of their Songs are traditionals from USA, Ireland and Scotland. With some own Songs they also played some cover-tunes from The Allman Brothers, The Doobie Brothers, Led Zeppelin, Gratefull Dead and so on. You must see this Band live to get a full repertoire on their shows!!!
"They seek to stir the soul with songs from the past anyone can relate to!"

Taped and uploaded with permission

FULL SHOW (119:19 min.)


01. Gallow's Pole (Trad.) (5:39)
02. Eilene Og (Trad.) (4:16)
03. Man Of Constant Sorrow (Trad.) (5:35)
04. Big River (Johnny Cash) (3:19)
05. Snake Oil Salesman (5:56)
06. Loser (Jerry Garcia/Robert Hunter) (6:35)
07. Evangeline (Emmylou Harris) (3:40)
08. The Cruel Brothers (Trad.) (7:21)
09. C'est la Vie (Chuck Berry) (4:41)
10. Melissa (The Allman Brothers) (6:00)


11. Ansage zum 2.Set (1:25)
12. John Barleycorn (Must Die) (Trad.) (6:15)
13. Can't Find My Way Home (Steve Winwood) (5:18)
14. Bron-yr-aur-stomp (Led Zeppelin) (4:47)
15. Snake Man (The Doobie Brothers) (6:38)
16. Moonshiner (Trad.) (4:12)
17. Fortunate Son (Creedence Clearwater Revival) (6:01)
18. Going To California (Led Zeppelin) (5:27)
19. (Nothing But) Flowers -> TomTom's (Drum Solo) -> (Nothing But) Flowers (The Talking Heads) (9:28)
20. For What It's Worth -> Band introductions -> For What It's Worth (Buffalo Springfield) (9:24)
21. Encore call (2:43)
22. Redemption Song (Bob Marley) (4:30)
facebook/you tube ect. sites...

Support this fine band, go to their shows, buy all the stuff your TrafficDeadMicrobus can carry!
Do not convert to lossy files, unless for personal use. No lossy net use! Flac rules!
If you spread keep lineage/taper info intact. It's us tapers who give you this recording for free!
If you sell (this recording)...I'll personally send you to hell!

KINGS OF WINTER with love...

LANCE CHRISTENSEN - Fender guitar slinging, vocals
MARKUS BRAND - Vocals, harmonica, entertainment, ricetin and other handpercussion
TOM KRETZSCHMANN - Assault and battery and clings
CHRISTOPH STOCKSMEIER - Fender bass and poling to earth

Uploaded to DIME by Spacebandit 11/01/2016