Kitty, Daisy & Lewis
2012 April 6 (Friday)
KCRW Studios
Santa Monica, CA U.S.A.


FM > Onkyo HT-R520 > Analog Out (2 - RCA Mono Out) > 2 - 1/4 Inch Mono Phone Jacks In > Zoom H4n > r8Brain 24bit-96KHz - Dithered to 16bit-44KHz > CD WAVE Tracking > TLH (checksums, encoding) > FLAC

Kitty Durham - vocals, drums, guitar, harmonica
Daisy Durham - vocals, drums, keys
Lewis Durham - vocals, drums, guitar, piano
Ingrid Weiss - bass
Graeme Durham - acoustic guitar
Eddie "Tan Tan" Thornton - trumpet

Total time 43:56
263 MB

01. 1:07 (introduction)
02. 2:56 I'm Going Back
03. 0:13 (song introduction)
04. 3:47 Don't Make A Fool Out Of Me
05. 0:47 (pause)
06. 2:20 Polly Put The Kettle On
07. 1:10 (pause)
08. 3:28 I'm So Sorry
09. 6:57 (interview)
10. 0:18 (-pause-)
11. 3:59 Tomorrow
12. 0:24 (song introduction)
13. 4:55 Messing With My Life
14. 1:15 (pause)
15. 4:35 I'm Coming Home
16. 2:20 (conclusion)
17. 3:15 Going Up The Country ** (with DJ voiceover, incomplete)

** Canned Heat cover

A huge hit for Canned Heat in the Woodstock summer of 1969, "Going Up the Country"
fit the pre-Manson bucolic hippie summer like a glove. Based on an old and very obscure
blues song (the bandmembers collectively were notoriously great record collectors), resident
musical arranger Al Wilson cleverly arranged this with a very simple flute and light electric
rhythm guitar (played by Henry Vestine). Wilson's own high tenor voice was like icing on the cake,
and the end result was not unlike what Brian Wilson would have possibly come up with, had the
Beach Boys been a blues band.


Stream/Audition This Show (remember, the streams can sound very lossy):

Setlist and information from KCRW's website (they're often incorrect):

Other Related Links:!,_Daisy_%26_Lewis


Kitty, Daisy & Lewis is a three-piece band comprising the siblings of the Durham family. Their music is influenced heavily by R&B, swing, jump blues, country and Western, blues, Hawaiian and rock 'n' roll. They are all multi-instrumentalists playing guitar, piano, banjo, lapsteel guitar, harmonica, double bass, ukulele, drums, trombone, xylophone and accordion between them.

Kitty Durham is the youngest of the group and primarily sings and plays drums, harmonica, ukulele, banjo, trombone and guitar. Daisy Durham, the eldest, primarily sings and plays drums, piano, accordion and xylophone. Lewis Durham sings and plays guitar, piano, banjo, lapsteel and drums. He collects and plays/DJ's 78rpm records and has built a home studio which consists of antique recording equipment such as 8-track tape machines and vintage BBC and RCA microphones. Kitty, Daisy, and Lewis do not use computers or any digital format during the recording process.

Kitty, Daisy, and Lewis have been performing from a young age, and have therefore built up a fanbase which supposedly includes Chris Martin, Eagles of Death Metal, Dustin Hoffman, and Ewan McGregor. They have had worldwide success with sold-out tours and have opened for Coldplay, Razorlight, Richard Hawley, Jools Holland, and others.

The band are signed to BBC Radio 1 DJ and Bestival curator Rob da Bank's label, Sunday Best, who released their second single "Mean Son of a Gun", a song originally cut by Johnny Horton in the 50s, with the B-side "Ooo Wee" which they first heard on a 78rpm record sung by Louis Jordan. This was released on 45rpm, CD and a limited edition 78rpm vinyl. The tracks were recorded at home. The vinyl was also cut by Lewis using his own equipment at The Exchange Mastering Studios, which is owned and run by his father Graeme.

On 30 May 2011, Smoking in Heaven is due to be released on CD & vinyl (double LP & 78rpm Album) also on Sunday Best.

Background information:


Years active:

Sunday Best