2017/03/18 - Lincoln Theatre; Washington DC, USA

Source: CA-14's (Omnis) > Church Audio ST-9100 > Edirol R09-HR @ 24/96
Location: *STEALTH*
Editing: Tracking, and fades were performed while the show was laid in Sony Soundforge 9.0a (Build 297) as a wav file. All audience applause was mitigated using both Soundforge's "Click and Crackle Removal" tool as well as manual enveloping with the "Graphic Fade" function. All periodic loud points (most specifically nearby hand-claps) were enveloped to allow for more headroom in Normalization (each channel independently to -0.10dB).
Conversion: Trader's Little Helper v.2.7.0 (Build 172)


01. Intro 00:50
02. '66 Wonder Where I Came From 03:18
03. '67 Come Back as a Cockroach 02:30
04. '68 A Cat Called Dionysus 03:03
05. '69 Judy Garland 03:16
06. '70 They're Killing Children Over There 03:02
07. '71 I Think I'll Make Another World 03:13
08. '72 Eye Contact 03:16
09. '73 It Could Have Been Paradise 03:20
10. '74 No 03:34
11. '75 My Mama Ain't 03:15
12. '76 Hustle 76 03:34
13. '77 Life Ain't All Bad 05:12
14. '78 The Blizzard of '78 03:23
15. Intro / Encore Return 00:45
16. '79 Rock'n'Roll Will Ruin Your Life 03:28
17. '80 London by Jetpack 02:49
18. '81 How to Play the Synthesizer 03:37
19. '82 Happy Beeping 03:46
20. '83 Foxx and I 03:04
21. '84 Danceteria! 04:09
22. '85 Why I Am Not a Teenager 03:41
23. '86 How I Failed Ethics 03:18
24. '87 At the Pyramid 03:27
25. '88 Ethan Frome 02:42
26. '89 The 1989 Musical Marching Zoo 03:41
27. '90 Dreaming in Tetris 03:44


Stephin Merritt
Sam Duvol
Shirley Simms
Anthony Kaczynski
Christopher Ewen
Pinky Weitzman
Quince Markham

This is "Program A" of The Magnetic Fields' two-night engagement at Lincoln Theatre, which was the fourth stop on their two-nights-per-town tour in support of their most recent release, "50 Song Memoir." The record was conceived by Stephin Merritt to feature a song which reflects upon each of his 50 years of life. Program A includes the first 25 tracks of the record, and the second night, Program B (03/19/2017), includes the record's tracks 26-50 (I also attended and recorded the second night).

This was my first time seeing The Magnetic Fields at this venue, but far from my first time seeing this group. I went in expecting far more instrumentation that usual for them, and as such I set my levels closer to what they would be for a normal show. Twice during the first song I increased the gain on my preamp and as soon as the first song ended I switched the input on my R09-HR from "Line-In" to "Mic" in order to buy myself more volume. I played around in post-production quite a bit to minimize any awkward chops, volume boosts, and silences, and I am pretty happy with what I came up with. The end result features an intro track and first song which have a louder noise floor than any other track, and an post-song applause period which is only slightly unnatural (owing to the 2.5 seconds of silence on the raw recording which resulted from changing my input on the deck), but by and large I feel the result is rather seamless. I faded-out the applause which came before the silence and spliced it over top of the applause which came after the silence, chopping out the silence entirely.

I hope you enjoy this recording as much as I enjoyed the show!