Neil Young : The Lostbrook Tape Series - Volume 32

In an unexpected but brilliant theatrical performance,
Neil Young took us on a �Journey Through the Past,� put
the �Decade� in perspective, and demonstrated that �rock
and roll is here to stay.� This was artistic genius - truly
a concert for the ages. The acoustic set still gives me
goose bumps. There was a bit of commotion during the first
few songs as throngs of people clogged the aisle to our left
and blocked our view of the stage. It wasn�t the smartest
thing to do while holding a tape recorder, but we argued with
an usher who said it was �impossible� to clear the aisle. The
situation was eventually resolved, and we were able to see Neil
amidst the giant props and the scurrying �roadeyes.� After
a �Woodstock� intermission, Neil Young and Crazy Horse rocked
the Coliseum with chords that may still reverberate today. It
was so loud that I even missed a tape change. Ordinarily, I
would use a match or a lighter to see the tape, but on this
night, I must have been waiting for the buttons to pop up. I
never heard or felt them pop, and missed part of �Cortez� and
all of �Cinnamon Girl.� The tape may be flawed, but the performance
is a masterpiece.

September 29, 1978
Nassau Coliseum
Uniondale, NY

Recording Equipment: Internal Mic - Sanyo tape deck - Alesis TapeLinkUSB - Audacity - WAV
Taper: Lostbrook
Mastering: CQ

01 Sugar Mountain
02 I Am A Child
03 Comes A Time
04 Already One
05 After The Gold Rush
06 Thrasher
07 My My (Out Of The Blue)
08 When You Dance I Can Really Love
09 The Loner
10 Welfare Mother
11 Come On Baby
12 The Needle
13 Lotta Love
14 Sedan Delivery
15 Powderfinger
16 Cortez The Killer
17 Like A Hurricane
18 Hey Hey My My (Into The Black)
19 Tonight's The Night