NEIL YOUNG and his Electric Band

Brisbane Entertainment Centre
Brisbane, Australia
21 January 2009

01. Love And Only Love
02. Hey Hey, My My (Into The Black)
03. Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere
04. Powderfinger
05. Spirit Road
06. Cortez The Killer
07. Cinnamon Girl
08. Oh, Lonesome Me
09. Mother Earth
10. The Needle And The Damage Done
11. Light A Candle
12. Harvest Moon
13. Unknown Legend

14. Old Man (false start)
15. Old Man
16. band intros
17. Get Back To The Country
18. Just Singing A Song
19. Sea Change
20. When Worlds Collide
21. Cowgirl In The Sand
22. Rockin' In The Free World
23. A Day In The Life (false start)
24. A Day In The Life

complete show
total time = 135:09 mins

"audiowhore recording"
SP-CMC-8 mics > Samson PM-4 > Sony MZ-NH1 Hi-MD > Adobe Audition > FLAC > Dime

Taped from the back of the floor, left side of the sound desk.
Very quiet crowd around me throughout, one of my best sounding recordings ever.

The sharing of a video from this show here last week has inspired me to dig out this tape.
If anyone with video editing skills wants to use this audio to do a sound upgrade of the video and share it here then you have my permission.

To my knowledge this tape has not been torrented previously.
Copies were sent to a number of people after the show including the guy who requested Harvest Moon so it may have circulated.
This version is a new 2012 transfer using upgraded equipment so it should sound better than the previous version.

The story behind Neil playing an "innernet request" of Harvest Moon (a one-off for the tour) started at Thrasher's Wheat here-

Also of note, President Obama's inauguration occurred approximately 18 hours before this show.
Neil references this during Rockin' in the Free World singing "We got a man of the people who says Yes We Can, Yes We Can!"

Old Man was stopped due to the guitar lead shorting out, more crackling than roast pork.
Neil had a senior moment during Mother Earth, forgetting a few words. After messing up the opening lines of A Day in the Life he stopped and said 'Strike 2 Neil".

The audience was very quiet and Neil reacted to the polite and sedate reaction.
As can be seen on the video, at one point he sits down with arms folded and a stuck-up face mimicking the crowd.
Maybe he saw the funny side of Brisbane's measured appreciation but apparently at the Sydney show soon after he cut the show short in disappointment at this attitude.
The all-seated venue and over-zealous BEC venue staff who harass anyone that stands up trying to enjoy themselves don't assist.
But Neil's legion of fair-weather fans who just like the gentle acoustic stuff need a rocket too.

Sugar Mountain entry-

Tour: 2009 Continental Tour - Australia and New Zealand
Band: Neil Young & His Electric Band
Neil Young - electric guitar, acoustic guitar, piano, pump organ, harmonica, vocals
Ben Keith - pedal steel, lap steel, guitar, organ, background vocals
Rick Rosas - bass, background vocals
Chad Cromwell - drums, background vocals
Pegi Young - background vocals, vibraphone, acoustic guitar, piano, percussion
Anthony Crawford - background vocals, piano, electric guitar, acoustic guitar
Larry Cragg - banjo