Neil Young + Promise Of The Real
Santa Barbara Bowl,
Santa Barbara, CA
October 10, 2015

Source info:
AT943 cards(3-wire)>AT8538x>Naiant Tinybox(P48)>Sony PCM-M10(24/96)>Adobe Audition(normalize, resample/dither to 16/44.1)>CDWaveEditor 1.96>TLH>Flac

Taper: David Sell
Location: GA Floor DFC 60' from stage
Sound Quality: Excellent

Set list:

1. After the Gold Rush
02. My My, Hey Hey (Out of the Blue)
03. Helpless
04. Mother Earth (Natural Anthem)
05. Hold Back the Tears
06. Out on the Weekend
07. Human Highway
08. Unknown Legend
09. Only Love Can Break Your Heart
10. Wolf Moon
11. Words
12. Winterlong
13. Alabama
14. September Song
15. A Rock Star Bucks a Coffee Shop
16. People Want to Hear About Love
17. Big Box
18. Monsanto Years
19. Down By the River
20. Time Fades Away
21. I Won't Quit
22. Everybody Knows This is Nowhere
23. Love and Only Love
24. ~encore applause~
25. F*!#in' Up


My all-time Rock N Roll hero does a show on the beach with Willie's boys and it was SPECIAL beyond measure! We got to Santa Barbara early to grab some lunch, drove up a down Milpas a couple time when I spy this quaint Mexican restaurant and we found parking close. Not 10 minutes after we get tin line to order food when a black limo van pulls up across the street and in walks Neil and the band. I was literally eating lunch 10 feet from my hero! I got a chance to say hello and tell him about my first time seeing him in 1976, and how his music saved my life more than once. He smiled broadly, said thanks and shook my hand warmly. I was starstruck like a 13 year old kid.

The show was absolutely amazing to say the least, Promise of the Real are dedicated, suprememly talented musicians and everyone could tell they were thrilled to be playing with a legend like Neil Young. Neil was clearly inspired by and playing off and into the bands energy too. We had GA pit tickets and got there early to scope a centralized, sonically pure location. Now remember I was down there in the middle of it and there are a few woots and random talkers and laughers here and there, but doesn't distract from the enjoyment of the music. No editing done other than to hard limit the nearby clappers and a few close woots. It's raw and pure so crank it up. I got the entire 14+ minute version of F*!#in' Up on video and I'll post that on my YouTube page soon. I'm half tempted to cruise to Vegas tomorrow to see them again and blow off work on Monday.

Neil Young - vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano, pump organ, harmonica
Lukas Nelson - electric guitar, vocals, lead vocals on September Song
Micah Nelson - electric guitar, electric charango, piano, vocals
Corey McCormick - bass, vocals
Anthony Logerfo - drums
Tato Melgar - percussion

As always, NEVER for sale, trade freely, and always support the artists' commercial endeavors.