Quicksilver Messenger Service
Fillmore West

This set is generally circulated as 9/14/67 but that date can't be right. Jim Murrary was gone by 8/18/67, according to Faren Miller's Quicksilver Diaries, which are available on the Cipollina Yahoo group. Therefore, I picked a new date. I chose a September 1966 Fillmore date, 9/4/66, with the assumption that someone got the year wrong years after the event. Possible further confirmation of the year is that the recording is mono, whereas the great Feb. 1967 Quicksilver Fillmore West soundboards are stereo. If this were truly Sept. 1967, it should be stereo, I would think. Note that this version, which is from a cassette and not any previous digital source, includes Dino's Song to begin the second set. This song is missing from most circulating versions.

As for the recording quality, it's pretty good soundboard. However, the vocals are too loud compared to the guitars. The tape was pretty hissy so I rolled of the treble over 10kHz and used some light digital noise reduction in Adobe Audition. There are some artifacts, esp. on the cymbals, but I think the tradeoff was worth it.

The cassette also included four other songs. Two I was able to identify as having already in slightly better quality on "Marin County Cowboys," so they aren't included. The other two are included here as bonus tracks. All Night Worker is a similar recording to the "Live in San Jose" September 1966 version, but it's different. Pride of Man, judging from the applause at the beginning, may be a TV broadcast.

If anyone has a better version, please seed it. Lineage: SB -> ? -> cassette -> Nakamichi BX-300 -> Audiophile 2496/Adobe Audition -> CD Wave -> FLAC 1.2.1 -> you. Tagging by foobar2000. Cuesheet included for playing or burning. Sorry, no art.

first set

01. Got My Mojo Working
02. Dino's Song
03. Hair Like Sunshine
04. Acapulco Gold and Silver
05. Babe I'm Gonna Leave You
06. Smokestack Lightning
07. Your Time Will Come

second set
08. Dino's Song
09. You Don't Love Me
10. I Hear You Knocking
11. Acapulco Gold and Silver
12. Codiene
13. Suzie Q
14. Mama Keep Your Big Mouth Shut

bonus tracks
15. All Night Worker
16. Pride of Man