artist: Ramblin' Jeffrey Lee & Cypress Grove
venue: Cactus Club, Brugge (Belgium)
date: 1994-11-12 (12th of November 1993)

line-up (Summer 1991 - November 1994):
Jeffrey Lee Pierce (vocals/acoustic guitar) and Tony Chmelik (acoustic guitar)

total time: (69 mins)

01. St.Louis Blues [Sylvester Weaver and Walter Beasley]
02. Pony Blues [Son House/Charlie Patton]
03. Titanic Blues
04. Sto' Gallery Blues [Willie Ford]
05. My Black Mamma [James McCoy/Son House]
06. John Henry [trad.]
07. Junior's A Jap Girl's Christmas For His Santa Claus [Willie '61' Blackwell]
08. Spanish Flang Dang [Elizabeth Cotten]
09. Alabama Blues (intro only) - From Temptation To You [JL Pierce]
10. Crawl Out Your Window [Bob Dylan]
11. John Hardy [JL Pierce]
12. Mother Of Earth [JL Pierce]
13. Lucky Jim [JL Pierce]

14. Not Supposed To Be That Way [Willie Nelson]
15. The Breaking Hands [JL Pierce]
16. Long Long Gone [Frankie Lee Sims]

lineage: DAT audience master
equipment: Soundman OKM-R-II mics >SONY TCD-D7(DAT)
processing: FOSTEX D5 >TASCAM CD-RW 700 >EAC >CD Wave Editor 1.91 >TLH 2.4.1 (flac level 8 / torrent creation)

Play LOUD over real speakers or use good headphones!

From a review I once wrote:


A stylish lounge-type club in the heart of medieval Brugge was the place for the only concert of Ramblin' Jeffrey Lee & Cypress Grove in Belgium. A sitdown concert for both performers and audience who were seated at small tables.

After the Japanese intro music ended, Jeffrey and Cypress Grove (a.k.a. Tony Chmelik) sat down on their chairs and started a string of seven old blues songs none of which were more recent than World War II. After attempting to start the next number, one of Jeffrey's guitar strings broke and the two switched guitars. Cypress left the stage to fix it and Jeffrey was left to do two songs on his own, "Spanish Flang Dang" and "From Temptation To You" from the "Wildweed" album.

After this, the concert really started to flow when Jeffrey, who had been rather nervous until then, was joined again by Cypress for Bob Dylan's "Crawl Out Your Window". "John Hardy" was next, followed by "Mother Of Earth," both from the "Miami" album. A wonderful rendition of "Lucky Jim" ended the set. Jeffrey and Cypress left the stage and tried to make it to the backstage area. For this they had to wade through the audience and tables. They literally got stuck, which resulted in more frantic applause from the audience making them take the stage quickly again. Three more songs followed of which "The Breaking Hands" stood out. This time they left the stage for good and managed to 'escape' behind the bar.
A truly great concert!!