August 28, 1987
Living Room
Providence, RI

Line-up: Joey, Johnny, Dee Dee and Clem Burke (a.k.a. Elvis Ramone)


I had the good fortune of seeing the Ramones many times at the Living Room during the 1980s, so when this show was announced there was no reason to think that it would stand out in any way so many years later. Of course, the brief 2-show run by Clem Burke on drums changed all that. (The following night 8/29 at City Gardens in Trenton, NJ would be his final show.) I fully expected to see Clem last with the Ramones, especially given his experience in Blondie and later Chequered Past, but after attending this gig it really didn't surprise me to hear that he was out as drummer. Clem got through the set okay, but there were obvious problems - missed drum parts, fills in the wrong spots, awkward transitions between a few songs and at times Clem just seemed a bit lost. Even when nothing was clearly wrong, the overall feel was that the band was out of sync. So in a short span of time during 1987, Richie left the band, Clem Burke was out after two shows, and the Ramones welcomed back Marky. Even in the pre-internet days, that kind of news travelled fast.

This tape and subsequent digital transfer was uncirculated until December 2010. The overall quality of the recording is below average, but at times it's a bit better than that. To the best of my knowledge no other source exists.

Source: Audience Recording

Equipment: Aiwa Stereo One Point Mic > Aiwa HS-J500 (Dolby Off)

Lineage: Master Cassette > Yamaha KX-500U (Dolby Off, Play Trim Adjustment) > Audacity (16 bit/44.1 kHz) > AIFF > xACT (fix SBE) > FLAC (Level 8)

Recorded and transferred by Phil H. (phil183)

Length: 1:05:56

Tracks [Time]:
01. (Intro) [0:49]
02. Durango 95 [0:54]
03. Teenage Lobotomy [1:51]
04. Psycho Therapy [2:27]
05. Blitzkrieg Bop [1:52]
06. Do You Remember Rock 'N' Roll Radio? [3:16]
07. Freak Of Nature [1:30]
08. Gimme Gimme Shock Treatment [1:39]
09. Rock 'N' Roll High School [2:15]
10. I Wanna Be Sedated [1:54]
11. The KKK Took My Baby Away [2:35]
12. Crummy Stuff [2:10]
13. Rockaway Beach [1:57]
14. Love Kills [2:13]
15. Sheena Is A Punk Rocker [2:13]
16. Glad To See You Go [2:31]
17. I Don't Care [1:39]
18. Too Tough To Die [2:35]
19. Mama's Boy [2:03]
20. Animal Boy [1:45]
21. Wart Hog [1:42]
22. Surfin' Bird [0:50]
23. Cretin Hop [1:41]
24. I Don't Wanna Walk Around With You [1:25]
25. Today Your Love, Tomorrow The World [1:44]
26. Pinhead [2:07]
27. (1st Encore Break) [1:21]
28. Chinese Rock [2:08]
29. Somebody Put Something In My Drink [2:39]
30. Bonzo Goes To Bitburg [3:03]
31. (2nd Encore Break) [1:12]
32. Do You Wanna Dance? [1:56]
33. California Sun [1:51]
34. We're A Happy Family [2:11]

a) This is the first of only two show with Clem Burke on drums.
b) Track 22 is incomplete due to the master tape flip.
c) There is a brief drop out during both Track 25 and Track 30.