Sarah McLachlan
Arena @ Mohegan Sun Casino
Uncasville, CT
July 20, 2014

Shine On Tour 2014

Source info:

Sennheiser ME 104's>Tascam DR 07 (16/44.1, 40hz bass rolloff)
>USB> PC> GoldWave v5.56> CDWaveEditor v1.96 (track split)> TLH> Flac (6)

Taper: Ringfedder



Set I:

01. Flesh and Blood
02. Building a Mystery
03. In Your Shoes
04. Adia
05. Answer
06. Broken Heart
07. Fallen
08. World on Fire
09. Q&A, Contest Winners
10. Loving You Is Easy
11. Monsters
12. Stupid

Set II:

01. Song for My Father
02. I Will Remember You
03. Brink of Destruction
04. Hold On
05. Love Beside Me
06. Fumbling Towards Ecstasy
07. Witness
08. Q&A, Contest Winners
09. Fear
10. - band intro -
11. Sweet Surrender
12. Possession


13. Angel
14. Beautiful Girl
15. Ice Cream
16. The Sound That Love Makes

The Band:

Sarah McLachlan - vocals, guitar, piano
Joel Shearer - electric guitar, acoustic guitar
Vincent Jones - keyboards
Jon Evans - bass
Curt Bisquera - drums



Review By Donnie Moorhouse | Special to The Republican

Concert Review: Sarah McLachlan get the job done at Mohegan Sun in Connecticut

UNCASVILLE _ Sarah McLachlan mentioned on several occasions during her performance at Mohegan Sun Arena on Sunday night that she had the �greatest job in the world.� The Canadian songstress performed her duties well, delivering a two hour, split-set concert in front of a slightly less than sold out room.

However, there were times that performance did seem like the completion of the task at hand more than an inspired moment. She has a new release �Shine On,� and with her audience having aged out of the digital download demographic, concerts like these are a necessity to spread the word.

So McLachlan paraded out her four-piece backing band and a sack of �frothy little love songs� (the term she used) and tried to package the new material around the half-dozen or so recognizable songs from her seven other studio releases.

She peddled the new stuff right out of the gate, asking the audience for its collective indulgence while she sang �Flesh and Blood.�

The stage was set up like a living room, with area rugs, couches, and ottomans.

McLachlan followed up with �Building a Mystery,� to majority approval and moved to the piano for �Aida.�

Powerful and seductive, the ballad �Answer� was the highlight of the first set. She moved back to guitar for �World on Fire,� and then brought the proceedings to a halt by inviting fans on stage (part of a social media contest) to sit in her �living room� for the remainder of the set.

McLachlan also pulled questions out of a hat as part of the interactive portion of the show, answering queries about her music school for disadvantaged kids and strategies on being a working mom.

After 11 songs, McLachlan left the stage for a 20 minute intermission.

She returned with �A Song for My Father,� and a piano-only rendition of �I Will Remember You.� The best new song of the night was another piano ballad, �Brink of Destruction.�

McLachlan�s distinctive voice, one of the best in the business, blended into blandness with material that was too similar in pace and purpose. No one in the band was showcased, the players, like their leader, seemingly content with following the program.

Another group of onlookers were pulled up to the �living room� and McLachlan spent even more time away from her audience, carrying on one-on-one conversations, signing autographs and taking selfies with the contest-winners on stage.

She closed the set with �Sweet Surrender� and �Possession,� saving her best-known song �Angel� to open the encore.