The Golden Bear
Huntington Beach, CA

Source: Soundboard recording on unknown cassette recorder
Lineage: Master cassette > Reel @ 3.75 IPS > cassette > HD > wav
Encoding: CDWave > flac frontend > flac
Taped by: A friend of a friend
Transfered by: Pantagruel

File Size: 505.5 MB (FLAC)


01 Fresh Garbage
02 Phoenix (Land of the Rising Sun)
03 Stone Free
04 Nature's Way
05 1984
06 Darlin' If
07 Downer
08 Mr. Skin
09 Rainy Night-> \not sure of the titles of these
10 Lost in a Feelin' /two tunes -- any help is appreciated
11 Looking Down (including Fuzzy's solo)->
12 It's All The Same (including Cass's solo)->
13 I Got A Line On You
14 I've Got To Use My Imagination->
15 Wild Thing


This is a nice soundboard that (I don't believe) has circulated before.
I'm seeding this in gratitude to rainer and skorpe46 who helped me grab the
'78 Spirit show from Rockpalast, and in solidarity with Randy California
fans everywhere, and in memory of Randy, may he continue to shred mightily
in the cosmos, whereever he is.

Randy California never got his due as a superb instrumentalist and composer.
His melodies were strikingly beautiful, and original. Not to mention the
fact that he was one of the *trippiest* of the psychedelic era guitarists.
While many music-industry types (many of them self-serving blowhards)
claimed to have an "in" with Jimi, Randy really *did* have a relationship
with the great one, and it shows in this performance. It seems like Randy
lays down one unbelievable, screaming solo after another at this show.
Cass is rock solid as always. Fuzzy holds it all together nicely.
It must have been a challenge for him sometimes to keep up with veterans.
Some of the tempos are extra-intense.

The highlights of this show (for me) are the wild versions of "Stone Free"
(Randy *wails*), Downer (more shredding solos), "Mr. Skin" and the set-ending
medley of "Looking Down-> It's All The Same-> I Got A Line On You." One odd
thing: the encore of Gladys Knight and the Pips "I've Got To Use My
Imagination." Randy can make anything into psychedelia.

Couple of technical things:

I tracked this for one 80 minute CD, with an overburn. To track for 2 discs,
split between tracks 10 (Lost in a Feelin') & 11 (Looking Down).

Couple of tracks start abruptly -- "Fresh Garbage" (opening tune) and "Imagination" (encore).
Sounds like the taper was slow on the trigger.

Otherwise, it's pretty consistent.

Turn it up, and enjoy!

Images for all shows as well as full size images for this show.

Images for this show: