Suzanne Vega
Staargebouw, Maastricht, The Netherlands
April 25, 1986

01. Luka (3:27)
02. Cracking (2:46)
03. The Queen And The Soldier (4:57)
04. Knight Moves (3:46)
05. Calypso (4:04)
06. Marlene On The Wall (3:34)
07. Left Of Center (3:20)
08. Small Blue Thing (3:57)
09. Undertow (3:30)
10. Luka (3:32)
11. Freeze Tag (2:35)
12. Neighborhood Girls (3:26)
13. Black Widow Station (4:28)
14. Daniella (4:28)

Total running time: 51 minutes and 50 seconds.

Taken from the Dutch KRO "Op Slag Van Maandag" FM radio broadcasts, June 1, and July 19, 1986.

Most probably "Luka" has been performed only once, but was simply aired twice ...

Source and lineage (taped and transferred by Magnix): FM > Tape > WAV > CD-R > WAV > FLAC level 8

Used software: Cool Edit Pro > Adaptec Easy CD Creator or Nero Burning ROM > EAC v0.95b4 > Cool Edit Pro v2.00 > CDWave v1.94.5 > FLAC v1.1.2 as build in Traders Little Helper v1.1.1 (build 90).

Another tape from the Magnix Live Archive.

The original transfer of these tapes was done almost 7 years ago (July 2000) when I had just started transferring (mostly older) tapes to CD-R. At this point I was not yet familiar with sector boundary errors and such. I used to record, edit, and split WAV-files with Cool Edit Pro before burning to CD-R. Later on I learned that Cool Edit Pro does not split exactly on sectory boundaries, which results in those annoying 0.2 seconds gaps (heard as pops when listening back). So, the CD-R of this tape-to-WAV transfer had these little gaps.
Also, FLAC, SHN, and the likes didn't exist yet (I think), and storage was not as easy as nowadays (with affordable external harddrives, recordable DVD's, etc.), so this was only burned as audio, and not as a lossless data backup file as well.
Now time has moved on, I'm going back to these older transfers to rip them for back up. When the rip is OK, EAC-wise and soundwise, it will be transferred to FLAC for backup purposes right away. If there's a problem, the old tape will be dug out again, and a fresh transfer is made when the tape hasn't gone down any further. And when I haven't come across the same or an upgraded version on a BitTorrent site or elsewhere, it will be shared for others to enjoy.
In this particular case the EAC-rip is error-free (see log), so I have chosen to load all files in Cool Edit Pro (for editing and such it's an amazing piece of software) and edit out those mentioned mini-gaps by hand. The result is one large WAV-file, which has then been split to separate tracks again, using CD Wave this time.

Please note that this is a real FM capture, no cable, but straight from the airwaves. Also, this comes from tapes that were already 14 years old at the time of transferring. This means that some FM and/or tape anomalies or degeneration may be present. Most has been fixed to the best of my abilities and most of this stuff is of very good quality. In this particular case especially the second part came from a tape that had not aged very well, and not all of that could be fixed. So, there are a couple of flaws, but all and all this is a very listenable recording I think. MP3 samples will be provided upon request.

On January 20, 2006 Dutch KRO "Legendarisch Live" did a rebroadcast of this show. The tracklist is below. It's still available on demand in 64 Kbps Real Audio format here: (click "hier" in "klik hier om het concert terug te beluisteren!"). If someone has this rebroadcast from FM (or better), please share! Thanks in advance.

01. Tom's Diner
02. Small Blue Thing
03. Undertow
04. Luka
05. Cracking
06. The Queen And The Soldier
07. Calypso
08. Freeze Tag
09. Marlene On The Wall
10. Left Of Center
11. Knight Moves
12. Neighborhood Girls
13. Daniella

So this rebroadcast does not have "Black Widow Station" but it includes "Tom's Diner" ...

September 2007.

Uploaded to DIME on October 1, 2007 by Magnix.