Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers and Roger McGuinn
Valby-Hallen, Copenhagen, Denmark
September 21, 1987

Source : Audience recording > low generation cassette (courtesy of M.R. archive)

Transfer : Zoom H4n (16/44) > Soundforge (tracking) > Wave > TLH (SBE aligned) Flac 8

Traders Den - October 24, 2019

Tracked & posted by kingrue upload #2181

Just when i thought i didn't have anymore Petty & McGuinn shows, I realize i have a few more that were waiting to get tracked and flac'd,

so today, we've got another recording of the opening sets for Bob Dylan on this 1987 tour.

As is usual from this tour, the Heartbreakers are playing with Roger McGuinn during the last half of his set.

Then Roger introduces Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers as they walk immediately to the stage and start right into Chuck Berry's Around & Around.

Roger McGuinn later comes back out and joins the band for "So You Want To Be A Rock 'N' Roll Star" & The Beatles "I Want To Hold Your Hand".

Ending out the show with "Shout".

Thanks goes to Mauro for the tape transfer. As far as i could tell, this needed no pitch correction.

Check samples for quality.

Band line up:
Tom Petty - lead vocals, rhythm guitar
Mike Campbell - lead guitar
Benmont Tench - keyboards, backing vocals
Howie Epstein - bass, backing vocals
Stan Lynch - drums, backing vocals

Roger McGuinn & The Heartbreakers (*) = 32:14
01 Don't You Write Her Off
02 Tiffany Queen
03 Sunshine Love
04 Light Up The Darkness
05 Chestnut Mare
06 Drugstore Truck Drivin' Man (*)
07 Mr. Tambourine Man (*)
08 Turn Turn Turn (*)
09 Eight Miles High (*)
10 I'll Feel A Whole Lot Better (*)

Roger introduces:

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers = 36:25
11 Around & Around
12 American Girl
13 Refugee
-- tape flip --
14 Goodbye Little Rich Girl
15 Breakdown
16 So You Want To Be A Rock 'N' Roll Star w/Roger McGuinn
17 I Want To Hold Your Hand w/Roger McGuinn
18 Shout

~~ ENJOY ~~