Here Comes VAN MORRISON & Them & The Blizzards & Monarchs - (Factory Pressed Disc) JTT

Here Comes VAN MORRISON & Them & The Blizzards & Monarchs

SOURCE: Factory Pressed Disc > EAC > FLAC Level 8 Align on Sector Boundaries

300dpi Scans of Original DigiPak and Artwork Adapted for Jewel Case

JTT August 2012

Here Comes Van Morrison 1963-1967:

01. Here Comes The Night (With Them)
02. Turn On Your Lovelight (With Them)
03. Stormy Monday Blues (With Them)
04. Don't Start Crying Now (With Them)
05. All By Myself (With Them)
06. Gloria (With Them)
07. One More Time (With Them)
08. Here Comes The Night (With Them)
09. Mighty Like A Rose (With Them)
10. Baby Please Don't Go (With Them)
11. One More Time (With The Blizzards)
12. If You And I Could Be As Two (With The Blizzards)
13. Gloria (With The Blizzards)
14. Hey Girl (With The Blizzards)
15. My Lonely Sad Eyes (With The Blizzards)
16. Mystic Eyes (With The Blizzards)
17. Boozoo Hully Gully (With The Monarchs)
18. Twingy Baby (With The Monarchs)

This 18-track bootleg collects virtually all of the rare and unreleased material that's known to exist with
Van Morrison as a singer before he started his solo career. Most of it, in fact, is unreleased, and while
not much of it is on par with his better Them recordings, there are some good performances here, especially
the Them tracks, which comprise ten of the songs. Among those are fine 1965 BBC versions of "Gloria," "Here
Comes the Night," "All by Myself," and "One More Time"; slightly tentative, slightly incomplete 1964 studio
demos of "Don't Start Crying Now" and "Stormy Monday Blues"; ragged renditions of "Here Comes the Night" and
"Turn on Your Lovelight" from their April 1965 NME Pollwinners Concert appearance; an OK live version of "Baby
Please Don't Go," done in the U.S. in 1966; and "Mighty Like a Rose," the only officially released Morrison-sung
Them studio song never to come out on official CD, though it was on the 1974 LP compilation Backtrackin'.
The most off-the-beaten-track material on this bootleg comes from a post-Them 1967 performance in Holland on
which he's backed by the Dutch band Cuby & the Blizzards. While the fidelity on these six songs is borderline
(though listenable), the group supports him ably on renditions of six Them tunes, including the classics "Mystic
Eyes" and "Gloria." Rounding out the disc are the two songs from the 1963 German single by the Monarchs on which
Morrison plays saxophone; these are pretty dumb rock & roll tunes, but of interest for serious Van fans as marking
his first appearance on disc.


Images for all shows as well as full size images for this show.

Images for this show:

VanMorrison196xHereComesVanMorrisonDisk (1).jpg
VanMorrison196xHereComesVanMorrisonDisk (2).jpg
VanMorrison196xHereComesVanMorrisonDisk (3).jpg
VanMorrison196xHereComesVanMorrisonDisk (4).jpg
VanMorrison196xHereComesVanMorrisonDisk (5).jpg