Van Morrison & Dr. John
The Wonderland Tapes
Vara Studios - Hilversum, Netherlands
June 22, 1977

Goody Speed/Pitch-adjusted Remaster

Additional lineage for this edition:
WAVs ripped from burned audio discs (EAC audio extraction info provided in this package) >
Audition (DC Offset corrected; Pitch Bender CD1 only-several tracks -38 cents; Tracking updated; noises reduced or removed) >
TLH (FLAC Level 8; Align sector boundaries; .ffp) > foobar2000 (tags)

CD 1 from FM

1. Hallelujah, I Love Her So (2:35)
2. Nobody's Fault But Mine (2:14)
3. Fever (3:52)
4. Foggy Mountain Top (5:01)
5. I'll Go Crazy (2:57)
6. Baby, Please Don't Go (4:18)
7. Santa Rosalia (4:15)
8. Announcer (0:38)
9. Joyous Sound (2:48)
10. You Gotta Make It Through The World (3:14)
11. I Just Wanna Make Love To You (5:22)
12. Shakin' All Over (4:14)
13. The Eternal Kansas City (4:53)
14. Announcer (0:21)
15. //Cold Wind In August (5:56)
Runtime: 52:38

CD 2 video feed (mono)

1. Santa Rosalia (4:53)
2. Cold Wind In August (6:14)
3. Joyous Sound (3:02)
4. You Gotta Make It Through The World (3:20)
5. I Just Wanna Make Love To You (5:27)
6. Shakin' All Over (4:36)
7. The Eternal Kansas City (7:17)
8. Cold Wind In August (8:24)
9. Hallelujah, I Love Her So (3:29)
10. Nobody's Fault But Mine (2:45)
11. Fever (4:16)
12. Foggy Mountain Top (5:45)
13. I'll Go Crazy (3:17)
14. Baby, Please Don't Go (5:05)
Runtime: 67:48

Van Morrison: Lead vocals, piano, harmonica
Dr. John: Piano, organ, back-up vocals
Mick Ronson: Lead guitar, back-up vocals
Mo Foster: Bass
Peter van Hooke: Drums

For years the best known set of Van's brief collaboration with Dr. John in 1977 has widely circulated only in incomplete form and mediocre sound on a bootleg known as Amsterdam's Tapes. Now, thanks to the persistence, dedication and collaboration of VLS (vanlose stairway) members and friends, this rare show has finally been assembled from the best sources available to us, complete as broadcast on Dutch FM radio. After 20+ years, we are sure fans will agree that it is about time! Better yet, we have also unearthed the "raw audio source" of that set, taken from the live performance for a TV program called "Wonderland" in Vara Studios, Hilversum, Netherlands. This audio has never before been circulated, and although available only in mono, it will surely delight the attentive listener.

A vanlose stairway production

Disc 2 appears to have had some digital processing (like hiss reduction), there is a bit
of digital swirl in the background.
A slight bit of non-digital static appears in a couple spots towards the end of disc 2.

Goody sez -
I would like to sincerely thank VLS so much for this excellent compilation, and all others along the way for these sources - until now, the best presentation of this great program.
Many of the FM tracks needed speed/pitch adjustment and are now in tune. Some tracking here and there has been updated a bit, (meaning a total of only 3 marker moves.)
Many of those digital noises mentioned towards the end of disc 2 have been greatly reduced or removed, making it easier now to hear some very low volume off-mic dialog if you listen closely. Hope nobody minds.
So... NOW... I do believe to my soul it's the very best...
Text updated 6/8/19