Vince Gill
Live at The Troubadour
Los Angeles, CA
2011 11-16

Genre: Country
Audience Tape: A+
Mikes: Schoeps mk4 > Actives > NBox >
Recorder: Edirol r-O9hr (24b)
Transfer: Goldwave (Highpass @60htz, EQ 1db boost 6000htz and 15khtz, Volume Boost, Compression > Dither to 16b) > Media Monkey (Flac Transfer L8)
Recorded by Scooter123
Location: DFC FOB
Tapers Trade List:

Tapers Notes: Vince Gill's Homecoming. Vince Gill got his start with Bonnie Raitt on
stage 35 years ago, and hasn't been back since. While he sold out the Hollywood Bowl
(18,000 seats at an average of $60 per seat), he chose to return to this dumpy venue to
perform a before a sell out crowd of over 250 people for $25. Go figure.

The gallery was star-studded with many LA recording artists, too numerous to mention, and
a wedding proposal was also featured.

He was obviously emotionally moved to return and play amongst his friends, so the
atmosphere was more like a private party than a concert. He spotted friends and fellow
musicians in the audience and called them out. He was having ball, and played nearly
3 hours, in a single set, with 2 encores. If you like guitar work or Country Music,
you better jump on this memory.

Interviewed about this historic show with Los Angeles Time's reporter Randy Lewis, about
some of the other ways a song comes into being, Gill stated that "Certain songs are
born out of a feel. On 'Guitar Slinger,' it was a riff, I was just playing that groove.
Certain things just point you where to go…. I’m sure that 'Purple Haze' was written
around that guitar riff at the start. “Liza Jane,” an old song of mine, was written out
of that groove, that little lick. Sometimes a lick can be the memorable thing, the
hooky thing that defines something. I think most records are defined before the singer
starts to sing. Musicians don’t get enough credit for making records definable."

The show includes quite a bit of banter about his migration from Oklahoma to Los Angeles,
arriving dead broke but with a 1942 Martin D-28, and getting his start in LA. Also included
are stories about his father, Amy Grant, guitar playing and song writing. The stories
are almost as good as the songs.

Cover Art is included.

Set List:

1. One More Last Chance
2. Banter
3. Never Alone
4. Tryin to Get Over You
5. Take Your Memory with You When You Go
6. Banter
7. A Real Mean Bottle
8. Pocket Full of Gold
9. Banter
10. High Lonesome Sound
11. Banter
12. Some Things Never Get Old
13. Banter
14. Look at Us
15. Banter
16. This Old Guitar and Me
17. Banter
18. The Old Lucky Diamond Motel
19. Banter
20. Bread and Water
21. The Next Big Thing
22. Banter
23. Cowboy Up
24. Sweet Thing
25. Don't Let Our Love Start Slippin Away
26. Band Introductions
27. I Still Believe in You
28. Banter
29. Pretty Little Adriana
30. Banter
31. When I Call Your Name
32. Banter
33. Its Hard to Kiss the Lips at Night
34. Guitar Slinger
35. Threaten Me With Heaven
36. Go Rest High on the Mountain
37. Oklahoma Borderline

38. Whenever You Come Around
39. Liza Jane

40. Till I Gain Control Again

TT: 2:41


Vince Gill, Vocals and Guitar
Jeff White, Acoustic Guitar and vocals
Dawn Sears, Percussion and Vocals
John Jarvis, Hammond B-3 and Keyboards
Peter Wasner, Keyboards
Paul Franklin, Steel Guitar
Tom Britt, Guitar
David Hungate, Bass
Billy Thomas, Drums

As always, I don't care what you do with these files, once you
download them--they are yours now, except these files are not
for sale, free trade only. You can thank me by uploading
something of a similar genre or trading with me, so I can.