Artist: The Who
Date: 1979-09-10
Location: Passaic, NJ
Venue: Captitol Theatre
Source: Audience
Lineage: Master Cassette>Nakamichi 670 azimuth-adjusted playback deck>Wavelab 96/24 1ch mono>Sox 44.1/16 2ch mono>flac
Taping Gear: Teac M-100>Sony TCM-600(mono)
Taped and transferred by JEMS

Band Members:
Roger Daltrey - vocals, harmonica
Pete Townshend - guitar, vocals
John Entwistle - bass, vocals
Kenney Jones - drums
John Bundrick - keyboards, piano

01. Intro
02. Substitute
03. Can't Explain
04. Baba O'Riley
05. The Punk And The Godfather
06. Boris The Spider
07. Sister Disco
08. Behind Blue Eyes
09. Music Must Change
10. Drowned
11. Who Are You
12. 5:15
13. Pinball Wizard ->
14. See Me Feel Me
15. Trick Of The Light
16. Long Live Rock
17. My Generation ->
18. Magic Bus ->
19. Won't Get Fooled Again
20. Young Man Blues
21. The Real Me

Length: 127:14

JEMS master recording. This show features a few firsts, it is the first of two nights they played the Passiac Theater, the first show of the 79 tour played in the US and the first show in the US to feature Kenney Jones on drums. Also of note My Generation features a Pete Townshend improvisation called Blue, Black, White and Magic Bus features another Pete Townshend improvisation called London Blues.

The first of a great string of shows in Passaic, New Jersey and New York City--the Who's first American dates with Kenny Jones on drums.

It was great to see the band back after Keith's death and they play these shows as if they had something to prove! Pete in particular was (as a Dr. Billy says clearly on the tape) "burning" and "on fire." This first of two Capitol Theater shows served as a great warm-up for the following five nights at Madison Square Garden.

This part of the band's career has not gotten the attention it deserves but the playing here is as fresh and to some degree experimental (note the improvisations above) as the band would ever be on stage. While we all maintain a passion for '76, the truth is the sets didn't vary much and relied heavily familiar material (e.g. Tommy, due in part to the release of the film).1979 brought back material from Quadrophenia and unplayed Who Are You songs like "Sister Disco and "Trick of the Light," the latter, at these '79 shows, featured John on eight-string bass and Pete on four-string bass.

The '79 tour also marked a second phase for JEMS in terms of recording the Who even more prolifically than we had before, as J began to follow the band around in earnest. More to come.

butterking and tapeboy for JEMS

Images for all shows as well as full size images for this show.

Images for this show:

Who1979-09-10CaptitolTheatrePassaicNJ (1).jpg