The Yardbirds
"Les Jeudis du Port"
Port de Commerce
Brest, France
August 27, 2009

Audience recording (taper: Armel)
Lineage: Zoom H2 ( WAV 24 bit; 44.1 kHz)> WAV > Audacity (fade in, fade out, tracks) > WAV > TLH > Tested/aligned on sector boundaries > FLAC(8)
Lenght: about 1h20mn

Andy Mitchell: vocals, harmonica, acoustic guitar
Ben King: lead guitar
David Smale: bass, vocals
Chris Dreja: rhythm guitar, vocals
Jim Mc Carty: drums

This show took place last Thursday during the free festival "Les Jeudis du Port" at the trading port of Brest, Britannia, France.

The recording conditions were really poor. It's an outdoor festival, and unfortunately, there was rain and wind during the show. I spent the first part of the show trying to protect my recorder from rain; and even had to get close to a girl's umbrella on my left. I canít imagine what she thought I was doing, but I did not want to ruin my recording by explaining. Finally, the rain stopped around the middle of the show. I was located about 30 meters from the stage, center, though I had to move regularly to avoid the alcoholics, for which Brest is famous. You can hear some beer bottles rolling in the recording.

Moreover, the speakers were not of top quality and the entire sound was muddy, except for the vocals. This improved slightly during the second part of the show. This resulted in a recording that is far from being really good, but still enjoyable nonetheless. The first part is quite uneven and fluctuates due to turning wind. In my opinion, the worst are the first 2 tracks. Strangely, there's some distortion on these tracks, though my recording level was correct. It may have been a little too high, but did not affect the rest of the show. It could be due to climate conditions, or maybe a poor balance later corrected by the sound man. I don't know.

There's a cut just before the last track as I thought they were gone and did not expect an encore. I had just enough time to switch on my recorder for this number and missed only a few drums notes. You can hardly hear the cut between the encore and "I'm A Man.Ē


01 - Train Kept A Rollin'
02 - Please Don't Tell Me 'Bout The News
03 - Drinking Muddy Water
04 - Heart Full Of Soul
05 - My Blind Life
06 - The Nazz Are Blue
07 - Think About It
08 - Mr. You're A Better Man Than I
09 - Shapes Of Things
10 - In The Mystery Of Being
11 - Rack My Mind
12 - Still I'm Sad
13 - Over, Under, Sideways, Down
14 - Little Games
15 - Band Introduction
16 - Medley: For Your Love / Happenings Ten Years Time Ago / Dazed And Confused
17 - Encore
18 - I'm A Man

Enjoy, share and, please, don't encode to mp3 or other lossy!