American Folk Blues Festival (Jam Session)
Live at Jazz House, Wiesbaden, D, Monday, Nov. 16th, 1964
feat. Howlin' Wolf, Sunnyland Slim, Willie Dixon, Hubert Sumlin, Clifton James
Pictures at bottom of this page.
More details at
"This time, a contingent from Chicago was chosen, with Howlin' Wolf at the helm. The Chess recording star had brought along his guitarist Hubert Sumlin. The rhythm section consisted of Sunnyland Slim, Willie Dixon and Clifton James. A highly respectable and dependable line-up that fit together very well, as proven by the official studio and live recordings done during this tour, as well as unofficial live recordings circulating among collectors.

The appearance at the Jazz House in Wiesbaden was also captured privately on tape. The date was Monday, Nov. 16th, 1964. The influence of various alcoholic beverages can be noticed on the pictures, as well as on the recordings. An apparently highly revved-up Howlin' Wolf took the rather small house p.a. system to an endurance test, which made the proprietor kind of nervous: "I thought he was about to eat up my microphones." The man operating the tape recorder had no chance of following Wolf's outbursts of sound. On the whole, however, the audience witnessed a varied and musically successful evening with interesting contributions by Sunnyland Slim and Willie Dixon."

01. Announcement->Sunnyland Slim: It's You Baby
02. Sunnyland Slim: Everytime I Get To Drinkin'
03. Sunnyland Slim: Bassology
04. Sunnyland Slim: One Room Country Shack
05. Sunnyland Slim: Come On Home, Baby
06. Sunnyland Slim: Goin' To California
07. Announcement->Howlin' Wolf: Shake It For Me
08. Howlin' Wolf: May I Have A Talk With You
09. Howlin' Wolf: Dust My Broom (w. hca)
10. Willie Dixon Announcement
11. Willie Dixon: God's Gift To Man
12. Willie Dixon: Big Legged Woman
13. Willie Dixon Announcement->Sunnyland Slim: Train I Ride (Love My Baby)
14. Sunnyland Slim: I'm Torn Up (incomplete)

01. Sunnyland Slim Announcement->See See Rider
02. Willie Dixon: Nervous
03. Willie Dixon: My Babe
04. Willie Dixon Announcement of Howlin' Wolf
05. Howlin' Wolf: 300 Pounds of Joy
06. Howlin' Wolf: I Didn't Mean To Hurt Your feelings
07. Howlin' Wolf: I Asked For Water
08. Willie Dixon & Sunnyland Slim: C-Jam Blues
09. Sunnyland Slim: I Done You Wrong
10. Sunnyland Slim: Tin Pan Alley
11. Sunnyland Slim: Theme Song
12. Sunnyland Slim announcement of Howlin' Wolf->
Howlin' Wolf: For My Darling
13. Howlin' Wolf: How Many More Years (w. hca)