Doc Watson
Louisville Bluegrass Festival
Louisville, KY

Source: FOB Neumann KM84 > Sony D5 Pro by Charles Odell
Transfer: MC (XLII-90) > Nak Dragon > Tascam DA-3000 (DSF 1-bit/5.6 MHz) > EZ CD Creator > WAV @ 2496
Master: Wavelab 11 (tracking, resample, Lin dither) > FLAC 1644

Thanks to Charles for taping and lending his tape to be digitized and shared; to JC Mahoney and Ted Mattes for facilitating; and to Mitch Wittenberg for knowing all things bluegrass

Early Show
01. Corrina, Corrina
02. banter - lights
03. Dig A Little Deeper In The Well
04. I'm A Stranger Here
05. Bye Bye Blues
06. banter
07. Blue Eyed Jane
08. band intros
09. East Tennessee Rag > Beaumont Rag
10. Lost Indian
11. Peach Picking Time In Georgia
12. Mama Don't Allow No Music

Late Show (7:00 p.m.)
13. Salty Dog Blues
14. Shady Grove
15. Milk Cow Blues
16. Nothing To It
17. Nobody Knows But Me
18. banter - noodling
19. Bass Player
20. Doc + Jack's Rebuttal
21. Smoke! Smoke! Smoke!
22. You're Not A Drop In The Bucket
23. Tennessee Waltz
24. Black Mountain Rag
25. I'm Worried Now
26. Tennessee Stud

Doc Watson - banjo
Mark O'Connor - fiddle
Jack Lawrence - guitar
T. Michael Coleman - bass

Started in the 1970s, the original Louisville Bluegrass Festival eventually became the Kentucky Fried Chicken Bluegrass Festival, then the Great Louisville Bluegrass, when the KFC money faded, and now it has become the American MusicFest. On the street, it's just the MusicFest.

This is both of Doc Watson's sets with the usual suspects for this time period. The recording is presumably another of Charles' KM 84's right up at the stage edge. Salty Dog Blues starts abruptly and there are a few small warts, but nothing serious.


--mhg :: 2024-06-24